AN AWESOME TOUR TO IDERE HILLS,OYO STATE NIGERIA

in #steem3 years ago

Thank you very much @steemit ,@fendit ,@belenguerra for this wonderful opportunity to write about my holiday. During the COVID-19 Lockdown period,everyone was home,and not allowed to go to schools,work or even churches. Markets had days they opened,and soon,that lifestyle started affecting me psychologically. Immediately the lockdown was lifted around August 2020,I sighed in relief.
In october,I was tired of staying home and needed to do something fun,luckily for me,My cousin called and asked if I was interested in going to Oyo state with her on a 3 day tour,all expenses paid. I stay in Lagos, and I had not been to Oyo state before,so it sounded fun,and I accepted without hesitation.
I slept over at her house the day before we were to set out on the journey ( 8th of October,2020). We set out very early the next morning,as early as 8am..We were to go by road in her car. We went to pick my uncle and another of my male cousin who were also coming along.
The journey was quite long and tiring,due to the bad roads..but ,after about 6hrs of being on the road,we finally got to the hotel we were to lodge.
IMG_20201010_171524_5.jpg

IMG_20201010_153413_6.jpg

IMG_20201010_153522_8.jpg

IMG_20201010_153133_0.jpg
After lodging,we had to go to the king's palace to make registration and to get permission to explore the hills. It was quite unfortunate we couldn't take a picture with the king. We were told that the place was regarded as 'the home of twins ' because many people in the community were twins( one of our tour guide was a twin). They claimed that if a woman who desires to have twins eats a particular vegetable soup make with their water, the woman's wishes will be answered.

I had so much fun on the hills,the tour guide took us to lots of places,the people in the community even cultivated crops on the hills.

IMG_20201010_165650_4.jpg
We saw a spring on the hills,it was so fascinating,and we were told it never ran dry.
We also went to little caves that were on the mountain.

IMG_20201010_181635_9.jpg

IMG_20201010_182725_9.jpg

We saw another set of young tourists on the hills, and we just exchanged pleasantries and went our way.
At some point,rain started falling heavily and we had to run back to the land.

IMG_20201010_183802_3.jpg
We went back to the palace to sign that we came back safely and also to write our experience. We were invited for a traditional festival that was to take place the next month,and I believed through that festival,the whole world would come to know that a beautiful sight of nature existed in Nigeria.
We went back to her hotel,ate and started our journey back on Sunday 11th October,2020..
It was a very wonderful experience and I would love to go there again sometime..hopefully,it would have been more developed to the standard of a tourist center

Uploading image #7...

Uploading image #8...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64254.80
ETH 3145.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88