You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HF20 Update: Operations Stable

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Limiting Abuse

The limitations put forth via the RC system is a great step in the right direction albeit with issues; however, I think presently the pros outweigh the cons.

What we are not addressing is the abuse perpetrated by higher SP accounts especially when said account have amassed their SP via manipulation of reward distribution such as the case with bid bot abuse which is a thing even if cognizance of it falls niche circles specifically abuse fighters.

I am an engineer that has a particular ethical bent against such things and I would like to offer my expertise to combat them. The issue primarily is we do not have the SP to do so decisively. I would invite you at Steemit Inc. to peruse the @steemflagrewards project to observe how we incentivized flags via upvotes.

We have received support from top witnesses and another among, @themarkymark, has even provided a host for future ops so our essentially grassroots movement does not incur additional costs. I believe I have proven my mettle concerning my ability to perform activities that help legitimize Steem as a viable blogging platform.

I notice some witnesses don't want to sell Steem as a blogging platform but rather an investment platform. I do not blame them as existing centralized efforts to curtail abuse have left much to be desired.

This is my appeal to you today. I hope it will be read by someone with some authority. I am glad to continue my work so my friends do not become bag holders.

The question is are y'all willing to give me the opportunity. Either way, I will continue to refine my ability to serve the good people on social media blockchain. Whether it be for Steem or another variant, is entirely up to the largely community which includes Stinc and the extent in which they empower us to make a difference.

I can only do so much and I do have skin in the game so hope you take my plea seriously. We want to be able to reward our mods and co-devs with more than a $0.50 upvote as our work avails us all and is significantly undervalued imho. So thankful that @utopian-io is working on a project to reward anti-abuse.

We get more stuff like that and the golden of Steem will be forthcoming. I believe that.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Steemit will never succeed as a blogging platform when there are bullies that will decide on what should be seen and heard, i.e., @ berniesanders and all his aliases who attempts to silence his critics. I criticized him once and now my efforts, however blog-worthy they may be, are all negated by flags. Nefarious flags. All from a guy who has gotten rich himself from stealing from the very rewards pool he claims to protect. What goes around, will come around on this "centralized" platform. Maybe someday it can be fixed (protection of free speech), but not before much damage is done to the platform.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57405.63
ETH 2867.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54