Steem is delivering me a fantastic ROI - Why I'm buying Steem and Powering Up

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Steem is delivering me a fantastic ROI - Why I'm buying Steem and Powering Up


In mid-February 2020 Justin Sun acquired the shares in Steemit Inc and proceeded centralise the blockchain under his control, improperly using Steemit's founders stake (intended for development and decentralisation of the blockchain) and tricking exchanges into initially supporting his power grab.

After extensive efforts to resolve the dispute failed, the community revolted and formed a new, fully decentralised blockchain - Hive - without the pernicious influence of Justin Sun and his minions.
Because of Open Source licensing, Hive was legally able to duplicate all the code and content on Steem.
The vast majority of the community and decentralised applications and projects moved to Hive and Hive was listed on many cryptocurrency exchanges without having to pay the normal listing fees.

On 19 May 2020, a Steem hard fork (0.23) designed to steal the Steem from 65 accounts associated with creating Hive became public.
My position on this hard fork can be found here: https://peakd.com/hf23/@brianoflondon/letter-to-exchanges-do-not-run-steem-hard-fork-23-hf-0-23-0

This was the final straw for my involvement with Steem.

I will now post exclusively on Hive at https://peakd.com/@apshamilton/posts
All my old Steem content can also be found on Hive.


MTfXe6DjRIa1yz1i1t2s4A.jpg

Steem has been delivering me fantastic returns since I joined the ecosystem in March this year.
It is one of the best investments I've ever made, only beaten by buying property in Jerusalem when there was literally blood on the streets.

How can I say that when its market price has dropped by a factor of ten!?

The answer is that my investment in Steem, powering up, engagement in the Steem ecosystem and attending SteemFest has brought me huge benefits that vastly outweigh my financial investment.

  1. Steem has got me blogging and writing down my ideas rather than just annoying my family and friends with them.
    For decades it had been on my bucket list to start a blog, only Steem got me to actually do it.
    By writing things down I have both refined my ideas and also been able to more easily share them.
    When I meet someone and want to explain my views on a topic I no longer have to explain everything, instead just give them a high level summary and send them the link to my Steem article on the subject.
    I have become a content creator rather than just a consumer.

  2. Steem has vastly increased my profile in the Crypto space. I had already been active in Crypto for a year when I discovered Steem and had become expert on many issues, but I was struggling to get recognised. Steem is an environment where genuine quality contributions are appreciated unlike some areas of Crypto where people get carried away with hype and the hope for quick money.

  3. Steem has been the biggest source of signups to the Class Action against Facebook & Google's Crypto Ad Ban that my company @jpbliberty is organising. Rather than spending marketing $ on external advertising, spending time and investing in Steem has been very worthwhile.

  4. Steem has allowed me to discover the amazing @utopian-io and join it as their new CFO.
    Utopian is at the cutting edge of a dramatic economic revolution enabled by cryptocurrency: Enabling the integration of Open Source production into the rest of the world economy, with financial reward and exchange mechanisms and expanding its scope beyond software developers.
    It is one of the top projects on Steem and in the Crypto space in general, achieving a lot with a little. I am proud to be part of it.

  5. Steem has brought me into a new community where I've been able to find like minded people as well as worthy opponents to debate and exchange ideas in a relatively civilised environment. While centralised online platforms encourage trolling and uncivilised behaviour in order to increase engagement, Steem's stake based up and down voting system creates a more civilised environment.

Its for all these reasons and more that I'm buying more Steem and powering up.

You could literally say that Steem has turned my world upside down - in a great way.

Signup for the Crypto Class Action against Facebook & Google's Crypto Ad Ban

Sort:  

A great way of looking at things and one that positively shows there is a lot more to being on the Steem blockchain than just the amount of STEEM earned. While that is certainly a part of it, there are many other benefits.

I feel the ecosystem is enhanced by having you, with your background, on here. Uptopian is an important project and, as we learned from Steemit, someone always needs to be watching the numbers.

Great post.

Thanks. Very kind of you to say this.

I have had a similar experience as well as I feel that despite not having powered down nor taken any crypto out, I have gotten so much out of the Steem experience given how the community has embraced me and the DApps being built continue to lead me to more engagement while here. This is why I feel that Steem is undervalued as the community itself is what creates value which has provided me with much more than I expected when started.

Posted using Partiko iOS

wow looks like you're quickly getting things done.
i'm sure you'll do a wonderful job as the cfo. pls keep sharing your journey in the world of crypto. i'm very intrigued. i'm sure you'll get the recognition soon enough because you're very knowledgeable 👍

Thanks. Yes we're moving quickly on lots of things. Only way to do it.

I am impressed with your assessment of your 360 degree growth. Many including me will be motivated to try similar to what you have done and achieved. Congratulations and all the best

great attitude, new follower, i just bought more STEEM

Wow! That is quite impressive all within the span of a year! Congrats to you and good luck with everything that the future holds! I am still finding my way along on Steemit and I have been investing here and there where I am able. I might be looking to make a another couple of purchases in the future as well. That's pretty impressive being associated with Utopian. They are a tough nut to crack! My first submission to them didn't go over so well. I applied the changes they suggested and my second one went much better. I look forward to reading more of what you have to say!

Upside down prices ! 😀

Posted using Partiko iOS

LOL!
Funny thing is; the picture kept uploading upside down for some reason so I decided to make a feature out of it!

Tip for you . Take a screenshot of the pic . Works then . Great post by the way. I’m the same as you. Just fit in here so the investment is worth a lot more than money.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by apshamilton from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

time to buy into dolphin dude!

Almost there.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @apshamilton! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 800 comments. Your next target is to reach 900 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94