Home owners

in #steem5 years ago

https://s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/partiko.io/img/beardedegghead-home-owners-e9wbveak-1541447683063.png

I still can’t believe that I can call myself a home owner. Growing up all I knew was poverty, more than half my life I lived in conditions that where well below any national or state poverty line. I knew that I was poor but did not know that there was an option out. I have to really thank my mother for moving us out of a terrible situation in Puerto Rico.

We did go through our difficult financial times here in the states but it did not compare to the disaster that my mother kept us from. Right now I am beyond grateful and humbled for this opportunity. However, I am not done, anyone that really knows me can tell you that I’m not about sitting behind the picket white fence and enjoying the American dream while working my regular 9-5 Monday through Friday.

I have a responsibility to my mother, my family, and my county to give back. As I continue to grow I want my people and my nation to grow as well. I am not an extraordinary type of person, I just suffered through a lot and still here standing. I want to be able to provide every boy and girl in the island of Puerto Rico hope through my testimony. Not just false hope either but also prepare them and equip them with the education and opportunity to be able to achieve their highest hopes.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Congratulations @beardedegghead! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 600 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10