You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Argument for Long-Term Rational Self-Interest Versus Short-Term Irrational Value Extraction

in #steem6 years ago

As you said, this conversation is not for me (low SP), but I think that I have a project to pitch to you guys with high SP. Here's something that may appeal to your long-term rational self-interest:

The Steemit Betting Community

We have a community upovte bot and a discord server: https://discord.gg/SAEf6nV

You can read more about it in our mission statement (it's the latest post resteemed by @sbcbot)

In short, we are trying to accomplish two things:

  1. Lower the attrition rate (new users quitting)
  2. Increase the quality of the content being produced

We are just a month old, but the response has been great. There are 40+ members on discord server and 30+ whitelisted by our community bot.

The nature of the content that the betting community produces is such that it will never get featured by @curie/@ocd/... hence the need for the community such as ours. I invite you to check this project out and if you think we are contributing to the platform, do support us. Cheers!

Sort:  

@lukestokes
I have been lucky to receive some free delegations! But what enjoys me more is that the ones who are delegating some power to me. Do follow me up. They will warn me or just undelegate me if I would use the power abusively! I do threat it as if it were my own.
I am only a small fish, but because I was away for 4 days. I did try out vote selling via smartsteem but not without notifying me biggest sponsor. I did feel obliged to be open about it, so that they could withdraw their delegation!
The SBC community we have created is another great thing. We try to support each other. Not only with upvotes but with steem tips and so on. We really take care about each other.
A few weeks ago, a new member of our community was downvoted due to flag abuse. He did wrote the complete post in English but also used the pl (polish) tag! He was only around the steem blockchain for 2 weeks! So, as a community we stepped up. Asked the polish tag polish to remove the flag (which they didn't) and stepped up and upvoted his post with all the power we had back then. Still wondering if people can own a tag?
It is important that as many niches as possible on the Steem blockchain, cause this will make it easier for newcomers to stick to it! Our community is sports betting related but could also be a knitting community. The more niches are present, to more people will come.
Like @beat-the-bookies wrote. For our community it is hard to get upvotes from people outside the community or for instance by curator trails and so on! Other communities will have the same!
We are not doing this for the money. We are doing this for the steem blockchain and to inspire people to interact with each other. Each day when I do look at the stats from @penguinpablo and took a look at the comment/post ratio my heart bleeds. We are scoring an average of 2.6 comments per post. This is really really low compared to other social media! And interaction is key! Money should be a nice side effect for most of us!
Newcomers this days may be glad to reach minnow status in a year or 2 and without fiat investment they can forget dreaming about becoming a dolphin or whale!
It is great to see that you are a witness who really care about the steem blockchain and are helping project which deserve to be helped!
Thanks for that!
Feel free to join our World cup contest! You can find it on my blog or on the SBC blog!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64512.59
ETH 3174.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85