The Dlive Drama

in #steem6 years ago


So Dlive is out. It’s easy to notice how the community is angry at this. After watching that @coruscate video on the topic and noticing how concerned she was, I've decided to give my take as a newbie around here.

Although this is objectively a bad thing that happened, I still think we can get something good out of this. To me, situation like this are great for people to understand the community they’re in.

I’m sure soon enough some other service similar, or even superior to Dlive will show up to compete with Dtube. This is the beauty of Steem, there’s always something new being created by people with great ideas and a great blockchain platform to put them into practice.

Betel


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

@betelcrux, I gave you a vote!
If you follow me, I will also follow you in return!

I enjoyed watching your Dtube!

Looking forward to seeing more of your Steem content :)

Have a great day

Thanks Nathan! Checked your content, I really like what I saw, you seem to genuinely love Steem! I'm also following you to see more of your content :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks a lot my friend :)

Happy Steeming :)

I know for me, I'm continuing on both DLive and the Steem blockchain with DTube. I started out on Youtube, and I'm still there as well.

I don't know if there's a conspiracy theory or not. I do know while I like Steem, it does have its issues. I, for one, think as long as a post is providing value and people are upvoting, the content creator should receive payment. But instead, it's only the first 7 days of the post.

I chose not to leave the Steem blockchain, but I also know DLive has supported me very well, and I wasn't ready to give up on DLive. So I'm giving them a chance there.

For me, I came to DTube as an additional avenue of content distribution. The same for DLive. It's not that DLive isn't an option. It totally is an option. They're just changing the blockchain that they're using.

I feel like rather than bashing DLive or Lino, it's a good learning opportunity.

And if someone just wants to focus on one cryptocurrency for their investment, that's not exactly a good idea. One should diversify their portfolio. Don't put all your eggs in one basket. And again, don't put all your eggs in one basket with content distribution. The exception is if some place is giving you an exclusive deal to put your content up on their site.

Mateus:
Hey Joey!

I had no idea it was only for the first 7 days of the post :/.

Yeah, if I had been on Dlive for long, I'd also stay.

You know what, you gave me a different perspective on this. I was thinking of quitting Dlive, but I might stay. I like Dtube, but idk what happens that people simply just don't watch my content there (maybe people here just don't like my type of content), while on Dlive I got a decent amount of views, upvotes and comments in my first video.

Wait you said about portfolio diversification is so true. It definitely also applies to content distribution.

Thanks for you comment, learned a lot from it! :)

(Sorry for the delay, Steemit wouldn't let me respond before).

I would say do be careful, since some people are flagging people who moved over on DLive. It hasn't happened to me yet, fortunately.

I had no idea this was happening :|. Thanks for letting me know!

(Again, sorry. Steemit has been preventing me from doing anything the whole week)

Posted using Partiko Android

You're welcome. It's all good! I don't think too many people could do anything on the Steem blockchain yesterday.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69942.87
ETH 3793.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73