Steem Cleaning

in #steem6 years ago

A lot of people around me don't understand my funny money Steem. I really didn't either, but I do know what gift cards are. This is a shoutout to @steemgiftcards and @xtrodinarypilot

I reached my goal of 1000sp for 2017 with a day to spare and have been holding new Steem in my piggybank for contest sponsoring and a good time to try and turn my Monopoly money into goods.

Then I came across @aggroed's post about @steemgiftcards and my interest was piqued immediately. Maybe a little foolhardy I didn't care too much about prices, I paid around 122 Steem for a $500USD gift card for Home Depot.

Everything went pretty smoothly, there was a slight delay in the transaction, but a private message on Discord from @xtrodinarypilot warned me that the slight delay was simply working out the kinks of the new system.

Even with the gift card in hand, I still wasn't 100% sure, because some companies limit their gift cards to the country/currency they are purchased in. Make sure you'll be able to use any purchased card in your country of origin, some stores have shitty policies (looking at you Amazon.com)
As a Canadian, I was still nervous as I approached the till today, would I look a fool with a failed card?

image.jpeg

NOPE! I may look foolish, but the card worked beautifully! I've been looking to get some bigger batteries for my power tools but kept delaying because I couldn't justify the cost.

image.jpeg

Never don't need drill bits in my line of work, so...

image.jpeg

Why not? And the big purchase that I've been eyeing for months...

image.jpeg

Wondering what the fuck it is🤔

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

It's a battery powered vaccuum. It really sucks, which is great😄

And there is still a bunch of money on the gift card. I owe a long winded apology to those whom have heard me refer to Steem as Monopoly money, I'd say it's in the mail but it got sucked into my new vaccuum😂

image.jpeg
Image.jpg

Sort:  

Wow - that really makes it things feel real, doesn't it?

Stephen King:

“If you wrote something for which someone sent you a check, if you cashed the check and it didn't bounce, and if you then paid the light bill with the money, I consider you talented.”

I finally made tangible profit from my writing 🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉😄😄😄😄😄 (firework emoji)
image.jpeg

Hooooray! I can hear the fireworks from here!

It's impossible to look at this picture without smiling. I am going to save it for a rainy day and apply liberally to counteract future gloom.

Awwww shucks😊

go for it man, it´s all yours!

Danke dich😄

Aww friend! I’m actually so excited for you!! Haha this made me so happy! It’s so much fun when you are able to get something you have been needing and wanting! And Steemit makes it possible💜 vacuum away!

We, do you have a lot of coconut in Canada?
😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

Wow you reached the 1k milestone, good for you really!

And three I want that LCD screen 😁😁😁😁

Coconut??? Only at the grocery store. Odd question, I wonder what in the post inspired it🤔

While Steem was, and is trading below SBD, it is best to convert it, because building SP makes everything better here.

And 3, it's a 50" 4K LED, we got on sale last year, the trade for working like a slave in snow is living like a king here👑

Lol sorry for the odd question I asked because of a user called Canadian coconut well sorry haha

I'm really glad, that you took advantage in the crypto changes to reach that feat, it's really amazing, you're doing so well

She is definitely a nut (don't tell her I said that😂)

Remember it always pays to pay attention.

Certainly well I've learnt, 😀😀😀😀

how cool, I still don't understand all my steem, sbd and sp, but I have some! ha Thought I was powering it all up, but some is in savings and not sure how to power that up, but am hopeful for the future! Thanks for sharing your story with the gift cards.

Okay. Your posts get paid out in Steem Dollars which should be valued at $1US but due to an odd market event shot up over 10 dollars and is slow to come back down,
You can save them at 0% interest 😕 or turn them into STEEM.

Steem is the token like Bitcoin, whose valuation is made to fluctuate. For the first six months I was here, STEEM was always valued above Steem backed dollars, so when it became worth less in the Currency Market (it's in your drop down menu)

I suggest turning your SBD to STEEM, then 'powering up' by converting the STEEM to Steem power.

Steem power increases your voting power, it's catch is that if you decide to cash out, it takes 13 weeks of 13 equal payments, this is to avoid the major swings in the market, giving STEEM a stability, like pennies in the bank

If the whales are all cashing out, it is a warning to start emptying your own account... But let's hope it never comes to that.

Good luck, happy steemin!

So how can I change SBD into STEEM so that I can power it up, I only see a transfer option or put in savings.. Thanks for your help. I wanted everything to go to steem power.

image.png

If you click on the market bottom it will show you the current price the two are trading at, how much you have available. I tend to stick to leave the current price as is if I feel I'm getting a good deal, you can game it all you want, but transactions/swaps happen quicker when you don't try to get more for less. After it is STEEM the drop down will give you an option to power it up.

I see, it use to just have a convert in the drop down instead of the market view. Thanks!

I love the silver rounds I've purchased with Steem that I carry around with me on a daily basis.

When silver finally is truly valued at its worth, you'll have the last laugh. Keep on stackin'

Great work @bleedpoet!! For for reaching 1k SP!! You really did a great job! Haha Myself hoping this year to get 500sp

It's tough, I post daily and respond to damn near every comment, well also trying to do new things, contest sponsoring, etc. I also keep an eye on the internal market and try to get my SBD into STEEM at good prices, which has been great lately. Work hard. It can pay off😄

How is your daily post going on at first bro? I'm 4 months old from now here in steemit and I'm trying and trying to achieve my goal , but I dont think, what I am doing this time is not enough. But as you said a while ago "Work hard. It can pay off." Hehehe thanks for that bro @bleedpoet.

Amazon was being a butt with gift cards? How so? :)

I opened it on Amazon.com rather than Amazon.ca, and once opened it is not transferable. Trying to order off Amazon.com from Canada is like pulling teeth because shipping and handling fees on what they will ship is exorbitantly high and limited.

I owe a long winded apology to those whom have heard me refer to Steem as Monopoly money

I forgive you XP congrats on sucking so much! How long did it take to receive your card?

I'm jealous of your toys

I'm a big kid, Home Depot with a gift card is like the key to candy land... I've strolled down the aisles eye fucking every tool that I'm waiting to go on sale... Current favorite is the Ridgid 18v jobmax with interchangeable heads, with the jig saw attachment... Chubbing. As for the TV, come a long way from the 27" Zenith Space Commander I picked up for 100$ back in 2001
image.png

  1. I noticed you are very tall
  2. I noticed it is not the first time you mention you like sucking
  3. How wonderful is it that after few months of steemin' you can pumper yourself? I live in Asia and everything is cheap and don't intend to cash out for a while.
  4. How much SP should I aim to reach in 6 months? My rep is 56.3 and my SP is fairly shit, but followers and upvoters are slowly growing
  1. 6'3" or 183 cm apr.
  2. If my vacuum didn't suck if be quite disappointed
  3. HODL!!! It really is the best idea for now, I cashed out some as a proof of concept, tangible evidence money can be made that can be exchanged for goods and services.
  4. Play the internal market, with STEEM being cheaper than SBD, take advantage, fill your STEEM coffer and power up. I didn't set the 1000 sp goal till mid December when I realized the exchange was so favorable it was a possibility. It kept me from cashing out at STEEMs peak, but I know this was just the first spike, and the next one will be even more substantial. You're doing a lot of things right, I'm certain you'll begin to see more growth this year.

I am exchanging every single SBD into Steem and powering up, but everyday my accoutn value seems to go down and I have to catch up powering up!

Are you a fan of jelly sandrina?😉

Number 4 is so hard to really say - 6 months ago is quite different than what the platform is paying out now. I say aim to post once a day and let the SP grow until the next big spike on the markets. Sell high - buy low.

I eat jelly beans in hell.

@artwatch why on earth 6 months ago people were earning more than now? :(

Wait what? Buy low? I thought it's by the spike, sell the dip😆

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69831.92
ETH 3744.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77