Plastic Ocean - when mother nature throws back the trash at you. A mini rant.

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

It didn't leave my mind today when I posted my picture on steepshot, since there is text limitation I decided to write more extensively about it. Our plastic oceans.

I have been travelling extensively around SE Asia for three months, and the amount of plastic I've seen on beaches drove me crazy. I filled a whole bag within 10 minutes, there were people joining me and helping me out, but also others rather looking at me in a silly way.

pollution-1741148-1280.jpg

I started doing my part because I simply could not stand it. While on ferries I saw huge amount of plastic grouped together and just floating there, while the rest of it was flooded back to the shores. I guess that's mother nature trying to tell us something, and it really opened my eyes.

Here in Europe in supermarkets, you are supposed to put every variety of veggies into plastic bags to weigh them, well I stopped doing that, even if I was recycling the bags back home as trash bags. It's unnecessary.

a-plastic-ocean-movie-poster-edited.jpg

I bought myself a reusable bottle, in order to buy less of the usual plastic bottle to take away.

I refuse straws when having a drink.

It's so easy.

If you think about it, how many times did you hear people complaining about their vacation spot not being so spotless? But how many times did you see any of those people actually TAKE ACTION?

ocean_plastic_bonnie_monteleone.jpg

I think we all can do our little part, because it always starts small. Let's do it for us, for the future generations, for the animals that are ingesting those plastic parts (and eventually even land on your plate). There is a great documentary about the matter I reccommend to everybody to watch called Plastic Ocean.

There is a reason why. I am not zero waste but I became more conscious about my consumption.

What about you? I'm curious to see where the discussion leads.

Much love <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67753.90
ETH 3783.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54