Trusting In Steem Is The Way To Loving Steemit

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

IMG_4283.JPG

I just read @jwolf's post on Trending "Stop complaining about Steemit":

https://steemit.com/steemit/@jwolf/stop-complaining-about-steemit

Why did I read it? Well the header seemed to be talking about me. I complained a lot about some things on Steemit during the past days and weeks. Well I don't exactly know, if it was complaining. But I certainly criticized some issues, what can be understood by others as complaining.

I was worried about voting bots, about the interface, about greed, about the content on the Trending Page. What I really disliked was, when I got the feeling, that Trending seemed to be just a promotion site for Steemit, telling you how you can become rich here and that nobody would care for the issues the avarage user struggles with.

"What are Steemit Inc. and those witnesses doing? When they can't even fulfill the needs of the small users yet, why are they already reaching out to higher goals now and planning SMTs and more applications?" These were the thoughts I had.

What I realized now:

The Trending page is indeed a promotion site. But not so much for Steemit, but for Steem!
And this isn't something bad, let me try to show you why:

Until now both things seem to be very much the same. To me until now it was mainly like: "ah yeah, got it... Steem is needed as the blockchain that Steemit runs on...whatever" Boy was I wrong!

It is very important, that we understand that Steem is a blockchain many applications can be build on. It is already happening, we all know some: DTube is the best example. There are many more. Some are more like supporters for Steemit itself, some are more self-standing like DTube is.

At the moment everything is connected through Steemit. But it's not mandatory, that it's like this.
I don't know, if it will stay this way or if they will devide it when everything has grown and developed a little more.

I now see Steemit more as a first application on the Steem blockchain. And to me there isn't anything bad about this anymore.
The more Steem grows the more value it's applications and currencies will have.

By the way have you already noticed that it's called "Steem-witnesses" not "Steemit-witnesses"?



Okay it is all a bit chaotic here right now and Trending is mainly promotion instead of blogging... but I am quite sure, we will see big changes on that in the future, when we trust in it and be patient.

When children grow they have growth pains. It will pass.



From now on I just want to enjoy this very active and engaged community around here and have fun posting without expecting too much for myself at the moment.
And just steem on and trust in it.


Image: pixabay.com

Sort:  

Good decision (I guess) to focus more about the actual community. Maybe that’s why I don’t keep myself as busy as you with these kinds of topics because I’ve never ever taken a look at the trending page since the first day I’m here. And that’s exactly what I’m doing with the news in tv and newspapers.
There’s a saying “The one who doesn’t read the news is not informed. And the one who do reads them is wrong informed.” ;)

I didn't know this one. I feel bad not reading it anymore. But I stopped it some months ago, because it was better for my nerves. And TV? What it is a TV? You mean this screen I am using for my Playstation? I guess that's also the best strategy here. ^^

Yeah, I only keep watching my tv series and then I turn it off again... and sometimes movies... and PlayStation is of course a good choise as well ;)

I just did a satire trending post, totally belongs on the trending page. I just wanted to see how well it would do without the paid votes.

I wouldn't have a problem with it if all the big wigs didn't keep saying that "quality will be rewarded. When in reality it's money and money making ideas get rewarded. I suppose it's inevitable since it is based on a blockchain that creates money. lol

PS. Just as a warning, don't read it right before you have to eat. :^P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69054.54
ETH 3793.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70