An honest opinion on making it BIG on SteemIt

in #steem6 years ago

Ever wondered about what it would take to get on the 'Trending' page or 'Hot' page of SteemIt? I'm sure most of us have and maybe even tried to. Even after pouring out your heart and soul into a well written and informative post, your efforts just seem to be futile. Maybe if you're lucky, one or two people might see it and you got some form of recognition for your efforts there. Even though it's hard to get featured it seems as though your feed is still not filled with better content but poorly written and repetitive posts. Why is this so?

The honest truth is, for 'small time' content providers like myself, we have a rough time getting featured not because of the quality of our content but rather the algorithm for SteemIt's content selection. It's a shame that more can't be done as I've seen a ton amazing content creators not get the recognition they deserve. The ones that took the time to write, edit and make the experience truly wonderful for the reader. A lot of the posts I see get featured are mostly short, uninformative and 'copy and pasted'. By no means am I saying that short posts aren't good. Even though they're short, they are just as well written as any other quality post.

The posts I'm referring to are like the example I made below, which has a longer gratitude post than their actual content.

"Come and join!! We are making WAVES.

[inserts link here]

If you like or enjoyed this post please be sure to
-Upvote!!!
-Comment!!!
-Retseem!!!
Follow @ [Insert name here]

Resteem > Upvote > Comment "

I mean really. Are these the kind of posts you'd want to see?

To be honest, I myself am not a heavy user of SteemIt. I come on once a day, to resteem and upvote the posts I deem interesting and informative. That's about it. I also occasionally write posts (hopefully more from now on) discussing something new I learned or maybe something interesting I found somewhere else. Even though I'm no power user like some of the content creators out there, I'm sure most of you have gone through the same frustration about seeing the same type of low quality content being posted. SteemIt is a community based platform whereby the quality of the posts going around is equivalent to the quality of the site. That concludes my view on how I think SteemIt currently is versus how I think it should be. This post is open to discussion and I'd love to hear more on what you're opinion on where we're headed for. Be it you found my post negative and think that we're doing alright. I'm fine with that. I welcome all opinions and criticism with open arms. Steem On!

Sort:  

I can relate to this so much!! I'm going to be completely honest: Even though I absolutely love writing, I'm forced to create ordinary or "normal" content which I don't like making. I know that I can write really good, but if I'm not appreciated for it, it starts to feel as if it's not worth it. Still, I try to make the blogs as much interesting as possible and sometimes even post things that I actually really believe in and feel greatly connected to. I really do wish the algorithm could improve. Thank you for making this blog @brendanwky! Your way of writing is really intriguing, honestly!

Thanks for the feedback! I guess we’ll just have to persevere until we make it. It’s not about the lack of attention a post is getting but more towards the wrong kinds of posts getting the attention. Still though, I would be perfectly happy creating content for a smaller and more engaging crowd!

Exactly! I've already seen like 20+ scam accounts by now and even more accounts where the account holders use dirty tricks to get upvotes for the posts that they didn't even put any effort into. And yeah, I'd be more than happy to have a small audience. Support is still support no matter how small it is.

Truthfully, I rarely look at the main trending page and I never upvote anything that has already "trended."

All it shows is the content of whales and people established on the platform and is not all that interesting.

Some of them are alright. But yeah I do agree with you. A lot of content from whales are being ‘artificially’ boosted. It’s sad but that’s how SteemIt works, I guess. Also, it’s hard to come by good content unless you’re constantly refreshing for new posts. Anyways, thanks for the feedback!

Congratulations @brendanwky! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 68016.16
ETH 3564.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.21