Upvote value cut in half with HF21. Why?

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

Please read this entire post before freaking out or taking this post out of context. I'm merely offering possibilities about why upvote values seem to have been cut in half, not conclusions. I'm as in the dark as anyone else, and this is now my 2nd post in my effort to get clarity. My previous post was censored by some accounts for reasons unknown to me, but I have my suspicions why.

I'm not sure if anyone else has noticed, but #newsteem (aka Hard fork 21) has cut the dollar value of our upvote in half. I have no idea if this is temporary or permanent, and would like some clarity on the matter if possible.

From what I have read and heard discussed, the reward pool for authors and curators was to go from 75% of total inflation, to 65%. This is to fund the new Steam Proposal System (SPS).

On a relative scale, the 10% cut in author/curator rewards is more like a 15% cut in post payout. I'm just pointing that out as some people may not understand how percentages actually scale. However, for Steem curation I'm not seeing a 15% cut in upvote value, I'm seeing closer to a 50% cut. Whether that translates to a 50% drop in post reward, that remains to be seen but it is alarming to see this disparity.


Quoting from This Post by @Steemitblog:

The SteemDAO was a concept proposed by @blocktrades to allow Steem users to publicly propose work they are willing to do in exchange for pay. Steem users can then vote on these proposals in almost the same way they vote for witnesses It uses stake-weighted votes, but voters can vote for as many proposals as they want.

Steemit paid $50k USD to @blocktrades for the development of the SteemDAO. Once approved, and after enough time has transpired so as to demonstrate the security and stability of the system (about 1-2 weeks of operation), Steemit will provide initial, one-time funding, by converting 200k STEEM to SBD which will allow the market to test this new feature.


The pie charts below represent the changes that have supposedly taken place to fund the Steem Proposal System (SPS). The left is before, and the right pie chart is how the inflation is being distributed now:


Unless I'm missing something, the pie chart on the right is not what we're seeing take place, at least if going by upvote value. HF21 was not supposed to change things enough to be too noticeable, but seeing upvote value cut in half is alarming for curators and authors alike.

Now, if this discrepancy in upvote value is temporary, then it's possible that Steemit Inc are converting the 200,000 Steem into SBD to fund the DAO through the reward pool, instead of using their own reserves of Steem. This of course is not entirely on the up and up, and would be seen by some users as deceptive. If Steemit Inc have informed Steem users in a blog somewhere about the large drop in upvote value, then it might be prudent to offer that information to us where we're more likely to see it. If we're informed beforehand that the upvote value is going to be cut in half, then at least there's transparency and reason to trust those making these decisions.


Instead of going down the conspiracy rabbit hole (because you only go there when absolutely desperate), I also have to consider that Steemit Inc has decided to cut inflation in half to stabilize the price of Steem on the open market. It's also possible they decided to kill two birds with one stone by funding the DAO and helping inflation at the same time, which is pretty clever in my opinion if true. If you cut inflation in half, then the speculative price of Steem should in theory gain upward momentum in price. You're not going to get a doubling effect for the price per say, but in theory you should see some increase relative to something like Bitcoin or Ethereum, which we are seeing FYI. The price of Steem last I checked was in the positive, while Bitcoin and others are in the slight negative.

That is potentially good news and makes up for a drop in upvote value, at least in the short term. Of course in the long term it really depends on how much cash flow the ecosystem can generate, as to what the real value of Steem should be. A lot of this value is still speculative, and that speculation isn't rich with confidence these days, but that is changing as Steem matures and starts becoming a hub for not just content, but DApps as well. There is no speculative ceiling on what Steem could be worth if a few large and popular projects decide get funding through Steem, and even through the SteemDAO.

Of course, I'm talking about future possibilities, none of this is written in stone.

It would be nice to have some clarity though.

While I have no future plans to power down because in fairness I don't have a noteworthy stake in the project, the progress of the Steem ecosystem does determine how much of my own time I invest in being "here" and interacting with the platform, instead of doing something more useful like rearranging my sock drawer or cutting my nails. I may not care enough to power down, but being able to trust those in charge correlates strongly with whether I decide to buy more Steem and power it up. I'm very certain that I'm not alone on that one.

I know and Steemit Inc knows that users buying Steem and powering up is what actually keeps them funded, not printing new tokens. The tokens are worthless without an influx of new capital. Hopefully the steemDAO and steem-engine can start turning this around. I see a lot of potential here but if greed is what motivates Steemit Inc or any of the witnesses, then the price of Steem deserves to be $0.00 and some heads need to roll.

Just my opinion. I'll stop there before going on a 10 page rant about shareholders and confidence.


thanks for reading. shares and comments are always welcome. I am not offering expertise or advice in this post, merely my own opinion. Please, stay safe.

Sort:  

I believe that the whales decided to transform the meaning of the platform and direct it towards the curators and the workers on request.
None of these care about the value of the steem (unless it is $ 0.00) because they exchange content NOT cryptocurrency.
The decrease in the contribution of the upvotes is a kind of tax that does NOT go to the curators directly, because it goes through that rare payment algorithm that they have invented as an alibi.

PD. Institutional censorship and self-censorship is one of the goals of HF21

Whatever the direction, I hope it's sustainable and attracts the funding needed, through whatever channels available. Long term sustainability is important for people holding steem power, and to attract new buyers of Steem. I get what you're saying, but at the exits of the system there still has to be a value in everyday currency (like USD or some other currency or hard asset) or there is not a lot of motivation for talented content or DApp creators to use Steem. Of course on the other hand, in my own position as merely a casual blogger, DApp user (like Drugwars.io) and Steem Hodler, the opportunity for profit on the Steem platform has never been bigger, but like i think you're alluding to, its the value of the content that matters, not the value of the currency, but I just want to add that both value of content and the Steem Token leap frog off each other. Only the most desperate developers and content creators will use Steem DApps, and sometimes it attracts the content that no other platform wants, which makes Steem less attractive for the real talent. It really comes down to how much risk the real talent is willing to take with Steem and their own reputation, because their content will directly effect the value of the Steem Token, but the downward pressure on the price of Steem will negatively impact the potential profit that a DApp developer could have made if they looked elsewhere for funding.

I think my concern is that Steemit inc or others overseeing Steem's current iteration are skimming too much cream off the top, if you get my meaning. The overall capital sunk into the ecosystem needs to stay in the system or Steemit and the whole ecosystem is just a make-work project for Steemit Inc.

The Hard Fork is NOT going to work. So glad so many others are on to that.

Yeah, I'm not buying the narrative that people hammering the downvote pool is the sole cause of the upvote pool being pilfered, because if true then there is a stalemate between post rewards increasing from downvotes and the voting pool decreasing because of downvotes. There's definitely something cooking, and I suppose we'll find out in time, but I'm fairly certain it has nothing to do with increased use of downvotes, that makes no sense.

People are hammering the downvote pool? Can we confirm that? That would be a positive sign, if by that, you meant people were wasting downvotes in a form of protest.

Apparently people immediately went about hammering trending posts that had used upvote bots. I guess that's to be expected, but apparently one of the targets was a new user that decided to buy upvotes, which last I checked new users buying steem helps the ecosystem, but I guess after a couple years of rage that some have against bidbots it is to be expected. I don't like how they were implemented because they created a problem that they then solved for profit, but I wasn't involved in the supposed stampede.

Congratulations @briggsy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 20000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 21000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

The HF changed 75/25 Curation to 50/50 Curation, more precisely 10/45/45 (SPS/Author/Curation) ;)

3HaJVw3AYyXBBQkN3tCkhE2EjPPNPEEY7rZsT4k8E4aPBLjjU4T3hN4b4jQMDrkJW4bFBpk6VQNnCRorLpNycp7bgm1hTXPpNDBMdiE.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.50
ETH 2910.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59