Seed Key & Cryptocoin Storage (get off your computer!)

in #steem6 years ago (edited)


Today we talk about storage ideas for your usernames, passwords, seed keys, recovery keys. It's time for you to get organized! Copy & Paste is the safest way to access your account with regards to wallet addresses, seed keys and recovery keys. Cryptocoin's allow the user a very small margin of error when conducting transactions, using a spreadsheet on an offline thumb drive is the only way to go.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Hey @broncnutz , while most things mentioned in this video is OK, one thing I strongly disagree,. That's the WEBWALLET.
I always keep saying to everyone around - KEEP AWAY your coins from a web.
Whatever it is - exchange or web storage, or web wallet.
2FA will be of little or no use - if there is nothing left to connect.

My order of preference for security is :
#1 Paper wallet
#2 hardware wallet ( NANO, Trezor etc)
#3 Clean cold smartphone

Then comes maybe a PC or web.

You may ask what? Smartphone?
Yes. It is still better than anything on the web.
Just buy a cheap ( can be second hand) smartphone, update the FW to the latest, erase everything, make reset to FACTORY defaults, install only the minimum required apps, wallets etc, store your coins there, place proper PIN and protection measures on it, recharge battery fully, switch it off, remove battery, and put all in a locked safe. You may check and recharge the battery once in a while, every 2-3 month. DO NOT use this smartphone anywhere, ever. Let it rest in your safe all the time.
TO my belief, you get this way to PRETTY MUCH TO THE SAME SECURITY as with NANO or Trezor, with even some extra capabilities and flexibility.
However still my

NUMBER ONE is PAPER wallet

How to build a paper wallet in a truly secure way is yet another story. Not as simple and easy as you may think. I may have my blog post on this one day soon.

Good advice don't forget to keep your trezor or paper wallet in a fire and water proof safe, stories on the net about how this saved people after fire from being recked.

The better solution in case of NANO/Trezor - is having that 12-word seed properly encrypted and several copies of that in safe places (your imagination is a limit - where to hide)
the beauty is -- you do not even need to buy a new NANO or Trezor, if one is lost, as long as you have those 12 words. Just go to this page ( or saved offline copy),
https://iancoleman.io/bip39/

enter your "BIP39 Mnemonic"SEED - and right away you are back in business.

In crypto world it is the endless game:

copy-protect-hide...copy-protect-hide...copy-protect-hide...

I'm with you on that @onealfa, like stashing clones of your holdings anywhere you deem safest.

Completely echo your point... Best is paper wallet just need to take care of it. I personally had bought 2 Nano wallets but after few news floating around pertaining to possible issues with that, concerned on using them.

That cold smartphone is a great idea. Thank You for the new way of safe. Hackers never sleep!!!

I use a program that is password protected to store all my passwords and then I only cut and paste my user name or password into any site I want to login to... and never use the same password for another sites and always use 2FA where ever possible and also use a combination of letters numbers and chr in your passwords.. and update them often also helps.

Please follow new Steemit and Dtube members @moonluna40 & @elyseelyse one is my sister and the other is a very entertaining friend!

IMHO, the very biggest help for newbie here on steemit is delegating to them some SP. There is a huge huge difference between your SP is 10-20 or 1000+ steem. At least until they reach 500+ level, so can selectivelly use their voting power

wlcm @moonluna40 and @elyseelyse in this great platform and good luck ^^

Welcome @moonluna40 and @elyseelyse to steemit
Hope you both will enjoy this community
Wish you Good Luck

Thanks @broncnutz for the shout out. I'll do my best to keep people entertained. Hey @moonluna40!

Welcome to steemit platform @moonluna40 and @elyseelyse
I followed both now.

Thanks so much!

@kingsberry thanks so much for the follow. Just posted my first steemit video.

thanks sir.i all time folow to your post

welcome both! sure I follow :)

Followed !! yeah...

Off topic a little below :

I've been toying with mining for SmartCash since you have initiated an interest in me to look at it. Followed instructions and setup a mining pool and using one GPU, mined away... this was on a laptop. Then I try to do the exact instructions on a desktop computer with also one GPU, but the miner software (SGMINER-64x) just keep spitting out error messages saying the server could not be found... strange.. at a lost....

The laptop mined about 1 SmartCash after some hours.... cant get the desktop to do shit...

Follow my sister @moonluna40 and my very awesome and VERY entertaining friend @elyseelyse They are both new to Steemit.com and great people to trade info and votes with.

done bro. <3

Thanks very much for the info.

Note
for login in the steemit platform us your posting key To be safe
i wich all the best for all us

Thanks @broncnutz for sharing this post with all of us.

Seed Key & Cryptocoin Storage (get off your computer!

Well you really explained it well i always like keep a backup of the phrases in multiple safe location and cryptocurrencies in trezor wallet but those who are new into this space might don't know much about the importance of it but you are doing a great job Thanks for sharing all the ways of keeping them safe it was very helpful and useful for me.

And huge shout out to the new Steemianns just followed  @moonluna40 & @elyseelyse as you said it will great to see their post's i hope i will be able to encourage them for being regular :)

and on the funny side note i really don't wanna my house to go on fire hahahhah 😂😂🤣🤣🤣

Thanks a lot again for sharing this

Have a great day ahead.

Cheers.  

Thanks for upvoting my sister!

No issues bro always good to see new friends around on steemit :)

I always heard how the safety of it is important but sometimes I get lazy , which may cost me one day . My internet saves me passwords by itself , then I think, what if I loose my phone ?? Also I need to get the thing that stores my wallets in there

Get your Crypto life together!!! 😂😂😂

In my opinion, nothing is safe in this world, you just have to expect that everything will be fine.

Stay Blessed. 🙂

Such great information!! When I first started out I was doing exactly what you shouldn’t do. I had a ledger book with all my passwords and keys in it. I started keeping in the notes section on email and phones but I’m really liking your idea with the spreadsheet on a USB. The two factor authentication is something I’ve done from the start. I’m really not sure why people are given the option. It only makes sense to do this. As for coin storage I was never sure what to do at first but wanted safety. Research showed me how to create my own cold storage on USB drives but with the introduction of storage hardware it makes things much more convenient. The only issue is the various altcoins that these devices might not support.
A sevice that is coming that has me extremely excited is the one by Sirin Labs. They have created a cell phone that is designed to interact with the blockchain. It comes fully equipped with cold storage wallets and is built on a software design with security for the blockchain in mind.
@broncnutz what do you think of this tech? I posted a blog about it earlier in the week.

https://steemit.com/cellphone/@broncofan99/the-next-generation-of-cell-phone-a-crypto-junkies-dream-siren-labs

I never heard of it....I'll check it .

This was good as it opened my eye's to some different ideas other than hard wallets. It also reminded me of just how safe one should be and how most are not. The thieves will come quickly when they do and it's better to be ready than wish you had been right? Thumbnails are a great idea by the way. I've got some ShAt to do now so I'd better get on it!

Do you own a Peterbuilt largecar?

Very inspirational. We are not a product of our circumstances. Rather, we are products of our decisions.

Nah...I just love this hat

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71