I got a new Macbook Pro with a STEEM TICKER built in!

in #steem6 years ago

Thanks to the recent rise in cryptocurrency I have been been blessed to be able to buy myself a Macbook pro for myself at the age of 17! This is the most expensive purchase I have made (£1750) so far!

To be honest with you guys one of the main reasons I decided to buy this VERY expensive laptop is because of this....

Screen Shot 2017-12-02 at 01.36.05.png

A built in price feed for cryptocurrency! Even STEEM and GOLOS!

Although to be able to get this you do need to fork out another £300 or so for the Touchbar option it is well worth it! If you also happen to have a Macbook pro with the Touchbar have a look below to see how I done it!

STEEM TICKER FOR MACBOOK PRO

----------------------------------------------------------------

Step 1: Go to "https://www.boastr.net/" and download the latest version of BetterTouchTool

Step 2: Open BetterTouchTool and click +Widget on the bottom right

Screen Shot 2017-12-02 at 01.46.16.png

Step 3: Now click "Select Widget" then "Run Apple Script And Return Value"

Screen Shot 2017-12-02 at 01.49.21.png

Step 4: Once you have done that click "Advanced Configuration"

Step 5: Type in the name of the coin you would like to show, Upload the Logo and choose the background color

Step 6: Now paste the following script into the box - (The following script is for STEEM for another coin simply replace STEEM with whatever coin you want)

set json to do shell script "curl -H 'CB-VERSION: 2015-04-08' https://api.coinbase.com/v2/prices/BTC-USD/spot"
set json to do shell script "sed s/warnings.*//g <<< " & json
set btc to do shell script "sed s/[a-zA-Z:{},]//g <<< " & json
set btc to btc as real

set STEEM to do shell script "curl -s 'https://bittrex.com/api/v1.1/public/getticker?market=btc-steem' | grep -oE '(Last).' | sed 's/[^0-9\.]//g'"
set STEEM to STEEM as real

set answer to STEEM * btc
set answer to answer * 100
set answer to round answer
set answer to answer / 100
return "$" & answer

Step 7: Click "Run Script" and make sure it comes up with the price of the coin selected (Shown Below)

Screen Shot 2017-12-02 at 02.00.28.png

JUST CLICK SAVE AND ENJOY!

If you are having any problems getting your ticker to work comment below and I will try help you out!

Please note I did not write the script used in this tutorial

Sort:  

Nice bit of coding you have there :)

This is awesome! As if I needed another reason to want one...
Highly rEsteemed!

Yeah man I love this raffle idea! We should also raffle a macbook pro with LCD price bar like @btcvenom has !

Thats cool! I bought a MacBook Air a couple of days ago and one of the reasons I chose it over the pro is that I couldn't see I would get much use from the touch bar

Oo cool man :)

And to think I was just about to ask for a "how to" guide! Just needed to scroll down. Thanks for this!

Now just gotta get me one them fancy pants macbooks.

Id seriously get a new macbook just because of that ticker lol

I dont really like Apple products, but I have to admit that is a pretty cool feature.

Wow, thats super cool!

I know what I want for Christmas...

:)

Hope they read this!

Congrats Kid!

Happy to see the younger generation prosper and start to lead...

Keep STEEM N ON,
Frank

WOW Amazing feature for the MacBook Pro! This is an amazing prize to win on @paywithsteem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86