You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Economies of Schedule

in #steem6 years ago

To me, one of the big draws of Steemit, for me, was that you could get paid to do here... what you already do elsewhere for free. I have always hated facebook... and tried sharing my photography there. It's nice to get a like or emoji... but SBD and Steem feel a lot better when I look at my wallet. The people I have met are awesome and there is more vested interest to care here.

Having said all that, one of the downsides when I first got here was that the payout window was only 7 days. I didn't come here to get rich quick or take a Lambo to the Moon. I came here because one of my Youtube subs told me to check it out. I was only used to the meager monthly revenue share (assuming I break the monthly payout threshold) on my content there... but the ability to generate revenue was for as long as folks could come to view the content.

So, as a direct comparison of the payout methods... there is a trade-off on a few levels. Since I was never on Youtube for the money either... I wasn't too concerned. The more I learned about the Steem ecosystem and the Steemit platform the more it made sense. I don't see how a reward pool could work if the payout period never ended.

In the long-run, I have come to find that both "The Early Bird Gets The Worm" and "Patience Is A Virtue" are equally true. The culture is geared towards instant gratification and max return for least amount of investment. I think that time is the most valuable investment... so anyone who isn't willing to invest the time probably doesn't deserve the reward.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63582.02
ETH 3289.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88