You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Difficult Steem Investment Debate - Inflationary vs Deflationary - Dive Into The Deep End Or Keep Wading In The Kiddie Pool?

in #steem5 years ago

Meh, keep the Bitcoing if you want and buy Steem with fiat, it's crazy cheap right now: 200 dollars and you add almost 25% of your current holdings.

I don't particularly like Bitcoin, but I hold some just in case, because I can see it gaining popularity in mid term, though I'm not sure if it really has much utility in the future, because it is technically very limited. But I guess it could keep it's position as "digital gold", though I'm pretty sure utility tokens will have a bigger role when looking long (5+ years). Proof-of-work is very inefficient too, burns a fuck ton of electricity and when it gets harder to mine, it leads to further centralization of miners, because only big players will be able to do it with profit.

I just like Steem, and buying it now especially when it is sold for peanuts, because there's an emotional connection to it, and with the EIP now implemented, stake is more useful than ever to get more by curation and combating abuse more effectively. You get rewarded by doing good for the chain, this is why I like Steem so much, because I can take an active role with it. It is also setting itself up to be a powerful utility coin with the SMTs being implemented on it. Gonna be like Ethereum with ERC-20 tokens, except that Steem is ready to handle the load of micro-transactions.

Sort:  

One concept is that as Steem is evolving to be better, so will BTC. Eventually, mining will be no more... I think your suggestion to keep the BTC and use fiat is gaining ground with me. The concept I'm forming is a "trashtocash" account to essentially buy Steem with money I've gotten from recycling to further drive how profitable it can be when I compound the Steem and grow it. It'll also let me develop a community/reward others. It's just a seedling of an idea and Steem can be shifted over to a new account at any time, but the theme appeals to me. Part of me does want to do a big load up to not delay, but my gut says to chill out. Good points on the active role and utility coin. That's essentially why I keep hanging around here.

There is something beautiful in recycling money going to STEEM and using that SP to help others.

For some reason I feel that this would be the more spiritual and rewarding route versus buying a lot up front. However, I currently don't have access to buy Steem anymore on any exchange except Bitshares, so I'd have to find a trustworthy workaround since BTS probably has a decent spread/premium. Thanks for being in tune.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60318.52
ETH 2983.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78