You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rethinking The Position of Upvote Bots in the Steem Ecosystem (without SMTs)

in #steem6 years ago

Totally agree on this. Bots shouldn't be denied but accepted with the power they give to benefit not just the powerful but everyone using steemit. While I was reading this it also came to mind that the platform steemit could also be changed to help the newbies and get more exposure whiteout the need of bots by making Tiers for the users. Imagine 5 reputation tiers, where you would have different trending, hot or new posts in each trend. Every user can see different tiers so for example curators could browse the lowest tiers to help newcomers grow, and newcomers can see themselves in a trending section way faster. But they could also see higher tiers for trending posts with great quality. Well it's a thought I had.

Sort:  

@cobmaximus ewwww I I like this idea and I've never heard it proposed before now.

@rebeccabe then I should do a post to explain a little bit more the idea :D maybe it will be considered. Thanks for the support

Thanks for your comment, @cobmaximus, and apologies for the late reply.

I have heard that suggestion before and I think I like it. As long as it can be done in a clutter-free way tho. I'm not sure I've ever seen it anywhere and I'm wondering if there's a reason for that. I actually do believe in manual curation, as I've started regularly in my comments on this post.

It is also important to keep in mind that the Steem Inc team has extensively studied most social networks and does try to bring us the best combined practices to Steemit. In some weeks Communities should also launch, thy shall give content creators new ways to be highlighted. Hopefully.

One conundrum your suggestion solves is the oh so tempting focus on rep. Which like any other metric can become a vanity statistic and thus irrelevant. I'm actually wondering whether rep should be done away with, as in not shown unless negative. I once had an operator of a rather large scale classified site tell me they did away with the rating system because it created an artificial entry barreer to new users. Generally, any form of classifying can be seen as a negative. I would prefer to level the field and highlight only the negative in that aspect. Again, as a form of protection to those less critically inclined.

That is true, it can be a double edged sword that could be praised by some but critiqued by others. I didn't see the point you raise about focusing on rep which is completely true. When I play online sometimes I focus too much on my score, trying to increase it and hopefully not reduce it. But still it is a good drive for me to keep pushing myself to do better. I guess it depends on the person.
Actually I was on my way to write a post about this. Although it might not be a solution, it could be good to raise again the point to make people think outside of the box :)

Go, go, go!

Anything that stimulates discussion is a discussion to be had. The only wrong discussion, much like with questions, is the one not had.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63878.79
ETH 3133.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85