Sunset for Steemit?

in #steem5 years ago

I just saw the news that Steemit Inc just laid off 70% of its workforce which makes me wonder, is the sun setting on Steemit? Normally when I see a company do that, it's a last desperate measure and rarely does more than prolong the inevitable. This is crypto land though, things don't always play out the same here so that comparison may not be wholly accurate.

tetonsunset2.jpg

Teton Mountains Sunset for Steemit

So what is y'alls take on this? Has Ned & Co made their money and cashed out and are now working on winding things down so they can take their money and run? Is this just a speed bump in the grand scheme of things that will reverse itself once this damned bear market finally turns around? Is the steemit community strong/motivated enough to continue developing the platform without the impetus from Steemit Inc? Anybody want to buy some SMTs?

I'm curious to hear how y'all think this will play out, I'm still trying to figure out what to make of it. In the meantime, Steem on!

Sort:  

Hi.
the bitcoin is expected to close the year 2018 above 6000 dollars.
I hope so.It is clear that it is true that 70% of the staff of this platform were fired, so it is cause for concern.
let's hope that this platform does not disappear.
Greetings from Venezuela

I hope so too, although I never thought I'd again be looking forward to BTC hitting $6000. It's concerning but there's not much I can think of that we can do besides keep using the platform.

Greetings from Kentucky! I'm curious, is the Petro cryptocurrency actually available there?

Resteemed for the picture! Great questions about the rest though, ha.

Awesome, thanks! Now if only I knew the answers...

For real haha

What worries me is I have made it a habit of posting random things anonymously. Well they can know where I come from but nothing else.
If it really goes down, where will you switch? I don't really like to go on a mainstream media.

I have no idea honestly. I don't really expect it to go down, I'm just afraid that development will stop and it won't progress any further. I'll still be here for a good while to come at the very least!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60870.66
ETH 2917.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62