74 Rep Milestone and My Thoughts On The Current State of Steem

in #steem5 years ago

ROCKABYE 2.PNG

74 Rep say wha??

I felt like this day would never come... I think I turned 73 last summer! I'm definitely in the Steem senior citizen club... can that please be a thing? 😂

What I thought was SO cool and kind of funny that the post that pushed me over the edge was my Steem Gratitude post. I honestly can't think of a better post to push a big milestone with! Thanks @theycallmedan for the great initiative! It's been fun to see everyone else's #gratitudechallenge posts and hear everyone's stories.

I know that engagement and the overall amount of users has felt pretty sparse around here during the bear market - but I'm so inspired by each of you that are still here, doing your thing and investing in your future - because that's exactly what you are doing - investing. The amount of steem we've been able to earn at these low prices will pay dividends in the future when the price goes back up. I feel there is a sense of family with those of us that have been active during the bear market this last year or so - and even when this place fills back up with people in the next altcoin bull run - we'll all have a special bond.

I guess what I'm trying to say is... keep steemin on. In a world where people tend to jump from one thing to the next because they are seeking a sense of instant gratification - I think the value of sticking with something for a long time is massively underrated. People flutter around from thing to thing and wonder why some people seem to achieve the "sucess" they want. In the case of Steem - maybe it's a large following, generous supporters and a community that actively engages in their content. That doesn't happen from just "trying it" for a while. It comes from showing up every day and doing your thing.

Sometimes opportunity favors the lucky... but I'd rather create my own opportunities - wouldn't you? You can't be ready for open doors to appear if you are sitting on the sidelines. Those that are actively participating and showing up are the ones that see the long term benefit that everyone craves.

Do I have my fears that the Steem will tank into oblivion and this will all be over? Sure. Do I let that potential fear stop me from still engaging and doing what I can to help the platform grow? No. Am I silly for still believing in this place? Maybe. That's a chance I'm willing and excited to take though. I love this place and if we can pull this thing off it will be the best damn thing ever.

Love you guys ♥️

Sort:  

This is amazing!!!! Hahah I love it!

It won't tank into oblivion. It might stay under 30c for the next couple of years, but the smaller that ninja mine stake gets, the more appealing the currency becomes.
Thirty million seems like an infinite amount; but at 800K STEEM/month Steemit INC is insignificant in 3 years.
People are begging them to stop the selling; I say, Triple it.
The price will drop back to 7c, clever people will spend 12 months snapping it up, then the ninja-mine will be gone and we can get on with it.

Great perspective. Just go ahead and get through the shittiness of the coin tanking to come out stronger on the other end. Would make a long winter for us - but thinking long term could be a good solution.

also inflation is going down by 0.5% every year. Right now it's at 8%, and it is double the selling from Steemit Inc.

Co grats and hope you won't take forever to get to 75! And I'm about to 68! And rising!

Posted using Partiko Android

Woohoo congrats!! I'd say that makes you almost a steem senior citizen too right? Isn't 69 the technical retirement age? haha

Lol! Yeah can I keep the 69 forever? That would s
Be sweet.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well said @coruscate! I’ll be right here with you. If this ship is going down, we will be going down together at least :)

Congrats on 74 whohoo!

aww thanks my friend! Yeah we are in this ride together! 👊🏻

Lol you’re really ticking into uncharted territory now and I wish you all the best in your golden rep moments!

I guess you will be hosting Steem bingo nights now right?

Posted using Partiko iOS

In my golden rep moments 😂 hahah love it.

Steem bingo at my house for sure. Come on over.

A Steem Grandma!

In only 3 years.

Does that mean you're really a hamster?

Congratulations I think.

Steem grandma! hahaha love it. I should have made that the title of this post. 😂

Thanks my friend! 🤗 You are a Steem senior citizen too! haha

Eheh I am. Just not as successful or popular as You lol but I will get there (or not lol)

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, that´s so amazing and such a reflex of your incredible work!!

aww thank you! It's been a fun ride so far!

That's all that truly matters! :D

This is great! It is nice to hear that you are so excited! Life is so good, and this adventure is amazing. You are doing big things! Be well.

Thanks my friend!! I hope you and the fam are doing well these days. 😃

Family is great! Life is good and God is great. Enjoying Northern Michigan and building online!

I love to see a a senior citizen of Steemit continues to believe in the platform. It encourages us all to just keep on steeming!

Yeah let's get some bingo going for all us senior citizens! hahah

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67689.07
ETH 3801.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55