Steemit: Can We Change the World or Is the Fight Over Money and Power Destined to Win?

in #steem6 years ago

Look deep into nature, and then you will understand everything better. -Albert Einstein (1).jpg

I'll go ahead and admit to you,
I am an idealist.
I see things at their highest potential.

I believe in humanity and have held on to the notion that we are in a time of awakening...
A shift in the paradigm away from simply hoarding money and power and towards a deeper understanding that we have ENOUGH.

I'm a pretty new kid and make pennies here (not a complaint, just a disclaimer). I'm ok with that and decided to commit to posting with true effort once a day for the next year. There's so much I haven't figured out here but its a process and Im happy to earn my way up the ladder by interacting and engaging, writing and photography...maybe even joining a group or two once I figure that part out.

I believe blockchain technology has the POTENTIAL to radically shift the power and control into the hands of the people. The idea that a platform can even exist where a person living in a third world country has (assuming internet access) the ability to liberate themselves from poverty with an earning potential equal to my own is truly mind blowing.

I was reading a post authored by @titusfrost about a collaborated effort to provide Christmas dinner for an entire Church family in Myanmar. Feel free to check out the post:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@titusfrost/how-steemit-will-help-feed-an-enitre-christian-church-in-myanmar-christmas-dinner

I teared up reading through it and couldn't help but imagine the possibilities. Look at this gift...we have a working mechanism right here in the palm of our hands to change the world. Literally change it.

I've recently noticed (it's kind of hard not to if you visit the trending section) a really bizarre and ugly power struggle. Money Issues...Name Calling...Accusations...Lynch Mob Mentality...Power Struggles all overtaking the pages that create a first impression for the new and future Steemians who are essential if we want this platform to grow and succeed.

I don't care for the details of the drama but I would love to ask, respectfully, that the people involved in the fight also spend time posting the beautiful, engaging material that brought them to the point they are today. There is obvious passion behind these arguments and I'm sure some valid points. I'm not trying to discredit that at all, just asking where the energy might be more useful on such a young platform.

It is literally in the palm of our hands...the power to effect conscious change for the better of humanity.

What kind of ripple are you creating?

Sort:  

Congratulations @cristinamuah! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70568.35
ETH 3813.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50