You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Getting Ready For Steem 1.0...And The End Of Beta

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Until reading this I was a fan of 1 vote per person. But you are right, that could have A big disadvantage if famous people subscribe for Steemit.

For you it seems to be quite alright, with already having 500+ upvotes. That could work for just a few months.

I just see were it goes from here. My feeling still says it might end up terrible. Either because Steemit can't solve their major issues. Or because a competitor beats the crap out of them.

Sort:  

Not sure to understand how a brand new competitor can catch up to steem easily. When they are 2 years of experience ahead , solved the scaling issues, etc.

I was making the comment for the current established authors like me @exyle and @donkeypong for example. For the minnows and upcoming author it might actually be a boon. Regardless, we can't escape the 80/20 rules. There will never be a time where distribution will be done "equally". It just means that the top end will be populated by people with huge audience rather than those with friends with a lot of SP.

Nailed it!
Pareto's Law is a reality in every system in the universe; "There will never be a time where distribution will be done 'equally.'"
So long as Steemians keep their expectations in check, keep putting out quality content to grow their following, and continue to power-up their Steem, the way it all shakes out will be in their favour, regardless of the end game.

what is that video about?

The song is "Something Good", as in these potential changes could be extremely positive for Steemit.

Though I do share concerns that once big social media personalities start using or moving to Steemit, most of us smaller or casual authors are going to get squeezed out.

Thanks @retro-room!
That's correct, you nailed the meaning of my intent 👍 🤝

I love that song BTW. Especially that 2008 remix.

I think a brand new competitor especially has a chance of they are under the wings of a big company. Which provides them both money and knowledge. This could also be A steemit whale with a few millions USD.
Otherwise it will be indeed really difficult to catch up with Steemit.

How could it help people like me? I still think I will basically earn close to nothing.

Do you have any info about the current reward distribution? At this moment my feeling says it's more like 80/2 instead of 20. If you look at the amount of Steem people have its actually like 80/0.2. That's at least what I concluded from arcange his data. But that data did not say anything about the reward distribution. Do you know any data about that?

I like this idea to be so it is possible for people who have good content but who are not highly voted, due to small friends with high SP.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61852.61
ETH 3084.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83