Sweating buckets and the worry.

in #steem5 years ago

u3kqx691fz.jpg

A few weeks ago I decided to change my password on my account and make sure everything was safe and secure. I don't like to fiddle with this type of stuff and really it scares the bits out of me.

Things can go wrong in a bad way and they have before. I had an account for about 6 weeks prior to the one I have now and that was lost to an almighty cock up on my part. I am good at doing those things and if anyone is going to make an error it will be me.There is a silver lining though as I understand it now and being overly cautious is the way I work.

I changed my password in a sweat filled 10 minutes taking my time to do it properly with no errors.A few of you know what I went through as it was touch and go.I didn't want a repeat as I have nearly a year behind me now and starting again terrifies me.It is not the account value, but what my account stands for. I can't replace the time and effort that has gone into it and I am proud of it.

I suppose if it was worth $20 000 it would be even worse but money can always be replaced. Blood ,sweat and tears can't though and I think it means more because it is a piece of me. I think caring for what you do and how you do things is normal and having pride in what you have accomplished.

If I didn't care then there would be something wrong as we are all working towards the future and hopefully it will have some financial value behind it as well at some point. Right now though I am happy it is behind me and everything to look forward and hope I don't have to go through that again. At least now I have everything saved like I should.

image source seuritymagazine.com

Sort:  

Omg, that would scare me too. It's important to spread it out I think. Reduce the risk!

Yeah, I would hate to lose my account, not just the tokens.

$rewarding 100% 14min

Hi @kabir88 the problem was what i had saved wasn't even the password.Luckily i hadn't deleted passwords on my computer and could salvage it. If anything had happened to mu computer I was toast and wasn't sure what I had was the correct password in the end. I felt sick and was lucky it turned out ok in the end and have learnt my lesson.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I remember the first time I had to change mine as well. It was pretty scary. I was really new to the platform and there was something going on that they told you to reset your password and undo all of your stuff in Steem Connect. I fumbled my way through it and luckily didn't lose any thing.

Hi, @cryptoandcoffee!

You just got a 8.33% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @cryptoandcoffee!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.910 which ranks you at #4210 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 191 places in the last three days (old rank 4401).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 189 contributions, your post is ranked at #63.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60870.66
ETH 2917.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62