What I have noticed.

in #steem5 years ago

depositphotos_3679214-stock-photo-age-group-selection-questionnaire.jpg

I started in March last year and things have changed not only in the price of Steem but the obvious one is the number of users floating around. This has become obvious when we have been looking for Redfish to assist trying to entice them to become Minnows.

I was thinking the other day about the age group of users on here right now and not being rude, but the more mature people are what is constant on here right now.If we had to think back to March and April then I would stab at a guess there were a lot more younger people around. The younger ones have left and will return when the loud music and drinks are flowing when Steem climbs the charts again.

The younger generation wants instant success and haven't learnt the art of patience yet. The younger users here right now maybe more mature in their thoughts and are ahead of their generation. Some of the young generation did very well as early adopters and have hung around and grown more. I know my sons and his friends wouldn't do what I am doing right now. They couldn't do it and that is fact.

I may be wrong and it may be just the users I engage with but I would say the majority are over 25 and would go further saying that they are 99% over 30 and maybe even half over 40. This wasn't the case 6 months ago though. I felt like a duck out of water engaging with all the youngsters that were around when I first signed up.

Either I am stuck in the middle aged older generation section and there is a kiddie younger section somewhere else and I have missed something. I am running through users names through my head and the majority are older and this has never dawned on me before. I haven't noticed this change as you are here everyday and don't notice things until you take a step back and think. It is a bit like watching yourself get older, you don't notice it. You only know when you see old mates from school days and think my god they are looking old.

Have any of you noticed this or is it just me? I think a more mature person wont power down as quickly as a young user would as this was hard and wasn't an easy come easy go scenario. Whoever is here now has worked their butt off at some point to get to where they were and most of you still are.

Image source depositphotos.com

Sort:  

Howdy sir cryptoandcoffee! ha! you don't realize you are getting older until you see an old classmate! lol. very funny and true and true that most youth don't have the patience. I was told several times that this platform was a very young one with the majority being younger accounts.
But that was months ago and may not be that way now. probably isn't after the difficulties for small accounts after the hardfork.
All I talk to now are mostly mature people with a few younguns, probably one of the youngest being sir @blanchy and he ain't exactly a spring chicken anymore, I think I saw grey hairs on him in the post he did about dookers or dookies or dickies or donkers or whatever that fluff joint he ate at was called.

😂😂😂😂😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

OK, I'm one of your mature followers. No, I did not ride dinosaurs as my grandchildren may think, but I do not consider myself old either. Just wiser.

@cryptoandcoffee, your post speaks to adoption, or more specifically adoption demographics. Which is a very timely topic.

I recently read in someone else's post, sorry can't remember which one, that Steem and Steemit have what most other cryptocurrencies dream of, a solid growing base.

And, like every other ecosystem, it will evolve as more and more find their niche here. I agree with @sharpshot, games will bring in younger demographics. Although I myself am considering looking into the games for a little relaxation. I suppose I'm really young at heart.

Key to growth will be rolling out the welcome mat and supporting many different needs. Steemit has the ability to do this. To allow one to follow their interests or find their voice. This truly is a remarkable platform.

So, thank you @cryptoandcoffee for your timely posts that "mature" as well as younger generations find interesting. Have a great day.

I don't think the old format would have suited that younger generation very well. They are all for quick and easy like instagram and snapchat. Long form blogging doesn't appeal to them as much.

Going forward i think that we will see a different situation with the various apps and games with a lot more appeal for them. And i say that as a thirty year old with little interest in those apps.

Interesting observations, it reminds us how early steem life is, considering we can spot trends as the crowd is still so small.

The trends I have noticed is the number of people from lower income countries joining, like Bangladesh and Venezuela. I think that's a great direction for Steem as it is likely to be far more important as a tool for these groups than many in the west.

I think older people tend to be a little more settled so can afford to have their cash HODLing for longer.

K

Hi Kabir. Yes I hadn't noticed up until now and as you say it is easier to see these things when it is a little quieter. I am happy to see users from lower income countries as I think it is more real for them as an every day source of income..

Interesting! I turn 40 this year and I agree, I think the reason I find so many interesting thoughtful people here is because so many are my age or older! Hadn't thought of it before.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think it helps as most of the others around us have had various life experiences and I thoroughly enjoy myself these days. It was a struggle in the beginning for me as I couldn't find others who were interesting to engage with.

Dropping in to fill the void of active youngsters (I'm 20) ✋🏻

I may be wrong and it may be just the users I engage with but I would say the majority are over 25 and would go further saying that they are 99% over 30 and maybe even half over 40. This wasn't the case 6 months ago though.

Interesting observation, one that I haven't actually thought about, but it makes sense, because I can only think of one on the same age group who is posting actively at the moment (@honeydue).

It's a bit of a shame that other young people are so impatient and turned down by the bear market (which seems to be turning into bull market, so we can expect much more of us coming back) because there's so much opportunity here.

I think a more mature person wont power down as quickly as a young user would as this was hard and wasn't an easy come easy go scenario.

I'm only powering down to reinvest the Steem into @ocdb to further increase my Steem Power 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Funny enough you were one of a few young ones I could think of.

Well, I'm happy to be that guy :D

Honestly, I think @cryptoandcoffee is spot on about our generation, man. Most of the kids I know do expect instant success, things handed over on a silver platter and all that.
There's life beckoning and for many, life is just booze and parties (not that there is anything wrong with that).
I can',t think of an active user around my age except for you and it is a shame. But then, what can you do...the future belongs to people with enough foresight to catch it, regardless of age.

Oh well, I've never been a fan of my particular age group, since most (present company excluded, naturally) are hot-headed, selfish and superficial. I like interacting with the older crowd on Steem.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, old guys are the ones I interact, too – there's just not much anyone else around! Or maybe there are, but haven't just come across them. But if you think about it, Steemfest was quite similar when it comes to the age distribution: majority was 25+ years old.

Yeah you are right. But I am just 23. Hmmm maybe I am mature.

Posted using Partiko Android

May be :)

I think games like Steem Monsters and Drug Wars will spark the interest of younger people. Hodling is still something that a percentage of the younger generation will do. I don't think they need to be active here to do that, many of them got in long before us oldies thought about it. I find it funny that it goes quieter here when the price is going down but lots of older people have little patience too.

Posted using Partiko Android

I have noticed the same. I guess that's what you'd expect. Youth goes hand in hand with impatience.

Posted using Partiko Android

Very happy others see this as well and it is not my mind playing tricks. I think the older generation could create the stability that this place needs.

In 1952, Urho Kekkonen, former president of Finland and prime minister at the time, wrote a pamphlet entitled Does our country have the patience of build wealth? (translation mine) in which he discussed the industrialization of the northern part of the country, the natural resources of which he wanted harnessed. Private investors did not have much in the way of capital or willingness to invest in such large projects, which is why he thought the state should invest.

That pamphlet popped in my mind when you brought this matter up. We have had to play the part of elderly statesmen here and bring a modicum of stability into the volatile space of crypto investing. :)

I hadn't paid attention to the age difference until reading this. I am 32 and the youngest person I follow.

In defense of the young people, they are more likely to be busy with young children and/or working full time or in school. I am writing this while watching my 60 year old neighbor pottering around in his front yard. Meanwhile on this side of the window a tired toddler just finished crying and spilling her drink, my boy is singing very noisily, and the dogs are howling. It is a busy phase of life.

But, like other commenters said, my generation has a pathetic attention span.

I hadn't paid attention to this either ,but it has become more noticeable and it will change again when the Steem price rises and this place gets busy once more. 32 is not old and would put you in the younger category lol anyway. If i had a guess I would say 28 - 40 is the average age on here right now. A wide range I know, but a year ago more were under 25.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63