[Steem talk] Crypto vending machine

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20190709_002814.jpg
I don't normally hit the vending machine unless necessary. The last I took a hot coffee out of the vending machine was a year ago when me and ex-girlfriend went to Busan, those vending machine make perfect coffee and seriously affordable!

IMG_20190709_002822.jpg
This little guy was having fever since Saturday. And until yesterday midnight, fever becoming too heavy and he become less active, so I thought it is time to hit the emergency button and we drove straight to the hospital.

IMG_20190709_014338.jpg
It was like this. Not many people around since it's way passed midnight, but still at the accident and emergency cases without serious trauma will not be immediately attended. We will still have to sit down and wait for our turn.

Here's the problem, I just realized I have only 150 bucks in my wallet. 3 pieces of 50 bill. And junior is requesting for a chocolate drink so he can fill his stomach. How do you think the vending machine can accept a 50 bill for an 80¢ drink?

I checked at my wallet again, there's no other smaller bill available. So I thought of, oh well. Might as well utilize the plastic money a.k.a credit card. As I'm ready to make the purchase, to my horror the scanner displayed offline. They did not link the machine online, and there's no way I can use my card to purchase.

You know why human have a mouth? That's right, when we don't have a keyboard, we can use it to communicate with other human being(only if you can sense my sarcasm here). I went to the counter and asked for a change of my 50 bill, and I got back 2 pieces of 20 bucks bill and a piece of 10 bucks bill. What a bargain, one to three exchange rate 😁

So I insert the 10 bucks into the vending machine for an 80¢ drink. That don't seem so far off. And immediately, my short lived relief is gone. The display console shows insufficient change for refund.

Oh mmm gee! Shops around the vicinity is closed, and the hospital counter doesn't have loose change for me 10 bucks. I was so desperate looking for alternative searching online to see if there is any loose change delivery service after midnight. And not surprisingly, there's no such thing as loose change delivery.

IMG_20190709_002814.jpg
Finally, I remember I have a tray of loose change in the car, off I went and grab some and finally I manage to save the day(1am in the morning, so yeah).

Here I am. What does this whole vending machine story has to do with crypto? My answer is exactly the same as your question. They're not related until you start to relay them.

  1. We used to have a burger shop where you can pay with #steem and eat burger. One of those shop closed last year, and the remain shop closed last week. No more Steem burger.
  2. We used to have a Steem clinic which you can get doctor consultation and pay with Steem, but that's in the Borneo island. As far as I know, the doctor no longer active in Steem, I doubt he will still accept Steem payment for the service.
  3. Credit card is one of the closest example one can relate a crypto wallet with. The only difference is, credit card is heavily "wired" across all the banking system worldwide, crypto is encrypted within the blockchain worldwide.
  4. It's the same shit going to happen like the vending machine who can accept credit card, but it's offline. Good as null. If it's online, I can purchase 37500 cups of coffee at once, or better yet but the machine. The only thing now, it's freaking offline.
  5. Guess how much the emergency bill costs me? Remember I told you I have only 150 in my wallet? It's about 600 in the end. Luckily the hospital's card machine is working.

Screenshot_2019-07-09-14-18-35-006_app.esteem.mobile.png
I know my account value is well above $1000, can I tell the hospital to wait 14 weeks after I finish powering down and I shall pay them?

The same kind of mentally goes everywhere. You can FOMO to buy in, but you can't FOMO for airdrop. You can FUD to let go if you bought the coins earlier, but you're not even qualify to talk bad about it if you got your coins from airdrop.

Investment is about passion. Do the things that you passion about. If you're a trader, then do your trade. Trading crypto for fiat is not investing, it's speculating.

Sort:  

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

帅哥/美女!新人吗?《steemit指南》拿一份吧,以免迷路; 另外一定要去 @team-cn 的新手村看看,超级热闹的大家庭。倘若你想让我隐形,请回复“取消”。

Congratulations @davidke20! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 49000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82