[Steem talk] Undelegation

in #steem5 years ago

As I was discussing with @wherein plans and possible outcome after HF21, suddenly they received news of delegation withdrawal. The account has been bleeding now due to the fact that it needs voting power to keep the community growing.

The thing is, why do we need to upvote to keep the ball rolling? It's not like if we don't have @wherein upvote we're not going to continue create content? Or are we really depending on a community curation project to survive?

bqkdt22c0r.png

Error 404, it was one of the well known error code over the Internet since windows 94(yeah I knew that). What if @wherein lost all of its delegation? When I looking at the entire payout system, actually @wherein had been bleeding since they started to pay a fixed APR for their early birds delegator.

When I look at it again, I think everything become clear. It's not about the delegation. It's about mentality. People are so used to kick back. I upvoted you, please upvote me back. I delegated you, please pay me back. I followed you, please follow me back.

What do we miss here? Exactly, engagement. The current situation not only affect @whetein, I believe many delegation base community project has been affected. By next week, after HF21, curation reward will be adjusted to 50%. I believe many of us is pulling back and getting ready for HF21.

What I fail to understand is, if you know HF21 is just going to be another form of #scot base token style and rules to apply in #steem, so why the fuzz? You already know the drill, so what's the fuzz?

I have not much delegated out, currently the biggest delegation from my side

200 at @cnstm
600 at @justyy
1000 at @wherein

Let's see how bad the damage is going to cost me during this #hf21. I know it's definitely going to hurt for the first week, because whatever payout from this week us going to increase on the curator reward, but I believe kick back vote will be badly hurt.

I'm staying in to see the show.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

吃了吗?来一份新手村小卖部的美食吧!@teamcn-shop假如我的留言打扰到你,请回复“取消”。

你好鸭,金鱼佬!

@cnbuddy给您叫了一份外卖!

@cloudblade cloudblade 迎着大雪 踩着滑板 给您送来
加拿大人民早餐伴侣

吃饱了吗?跟我猜拳吧! 石头,剪刀,布~

如果您对我的服务满意,请不要吝啬您的点赞~
@onepagex

Most of the time I delegate is not really for ROI, but if there's a way to encourage the community to continue to go forth, delegation is the first stepping stone to just ignite the project (or a particular content writer) until they are stable to run itself / themselves.

If every person place profit before engagement, then yes. You will see many people pulling out.

And I agree with you, HF21 rewards system of 50/50 is the same with the SCOT rewards. We already have an initial taste of it.

Probably the only draw of disgrunted Steemians about this is at the end; the 20 witness (political) issue that seemed to be irking every single content influencer.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, for a few thousand worth of SP I'd small matter. For 10ths of thousands will be a different level. Since I'm a small time, I couldn't be bother to withdraw just yet. Gonna hodl on to dearly life

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha. Mine is not even by the thousands yet.

Posted using Partiko Android

Exactly. Some said, withdraw now, so they can start upvoting and earn that 50% curation reward once HF21 concluded. But again, reward pool is only this big, everybody jump in and upvote, everyone gets a smaller share for more portion.

What left now, is how those initiative going to distribute their profit makes more sense. To me, it's a zero sum game. Someone still gotta pay in the end.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85