You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are The People With Whom You Began Your Journey On Steemit Still Around?

in #steem6 years ago

I'm on the platform from May and I know you asked people who are here longer but I'd like to answer anyway..

I see that there are still Steemians around who joined in 2016 and they keep building their communities and many of them support newbies so that they don't leave the platform.

In that short time that I'm here I've seen also many people leaving. The price goes down and they get demotivated. I can understand them if they're looking at the short term gain.

I'm looking at the long term and I believe right now it's the best time to be around, post and engage with others to get noticed. Once the price goes up, many of them will return and it will be more difficult to build your own community so this is what I focus on now..

And even if the price goes down, most of us earn more here than on any other social media platform..

For me it's important to have fun and this is why I stick around!

Sort:  

Thank you for responding and I'm glad you did. The price drops affects curation significantly as people have chosen bid bots (these days) over curating themselves so organic content discovery is harshly affected. When prices goes up it takes lesser vp to distribute rewards which makes it easier to curate as people who depend on income from Steemit are directly affected by how much VP they use.

However, we're still a young platform but in another 2 years we need to get beyond the issues we face today including poor curation at price drops. I'm optimistic that we shall.

Thank you for sharing your view with me. I understand the point with bid bots but I'm lucky not to depend on income from Steemit so I still curate manually. Yes, I can curate less posts (unfortunately) but I do enjoy reading them and leaving a comment..

I'm sure we will get beyond these issues!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64307.66
ETH 3146.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88