You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Problem With Facebook

in #steem5 years ago

I saw the dangers of Facebook a few months after it started, when they began forcing people to submit their real ID's. I closed my account immediately and never looked back. The rest is history, their repeated abuses kept getting worse, yet, they're still around. It puzzles me that people ignore how enslaved they are to social media.

Sort:  

Companies rarely die overnight. They have an inertia to them. Even Blackberry is still around. They die slowly from the inside out. Only after enough time has gone by does it become obvious that its peak is in the past. It might not even be the case that Facebook has yet reached its peak. I've heard it's still actually growing. But one day it will peak, then decline, then die, and something will have to take its place. Which is actually pretty ideal because it turns out blockchains are tough to scale, lol. Perhaps this is the beginning of the end for Facebook, only time will tell.

I would love to believe that, but I'm afraid FB has joined the league of the "too big to fail" corporations. Plus, they have insidious tactics to snare and addict kids/teenagers to use their platform; the next generation is already being brainwashed. It will be very difficult to shake them up and awaken their minds. What bothers me is, despite all the controversies and abuses, governments haven't shut it down. All they do is theatrical hearings, a slap on the wrist, then everything is back to business the next day. I highly doubt Warren or Cruz will make any difference whatsoever.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63630.77
ETH 3179.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95