If you stop writing when STEEM/SBD prices drop, you will miss the inevitable pickup.

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

steam-2996788__480.jpg

Every time the price of Steem/SBD goes down, people stop writing . Don't.

I wrote about this recently, but it's worth noting again, because I can see from my auto-voter that many of the people I actively support (through auto-votes) have stopped writing again. (Normally, my voting power hovers between 71-74%. Right now, it is at 85%. This indicates that less people are voting, and/or are voting less often).

I don't understand this. The logic is clear, but flawed, because there is a lag time of one week between posting and getting rewarded.

Literally anything can happen in a week. Bitcoin could rip, dragging up STEEM and SBD with it. And if that happens, your post might increase in value by 25%. Or 50%. Or 175%. We just don't know.

And in that scenario, let's say you decide to post again at that point - but then one week later the price plummets again (who knows in this environment?). By the time you get your rewards they will be -25%. Or -50%. Or -175%.

steam-2996781__480.jpg

The only way to make sure you see the good times and build your account (through posting) is to post regularly. I post every day. When the good times come, I will have the rewards to show for it: I won't be waiting for a week, hoping that the prices holds.

I recommend this approach as it also helps (I believe) hone your writing skills. The more often you write, the better writer you will become.

Keep STEEMing!

Photos courtesy of pixabay.com

drwom-01.png

DQmampd9mQbBZuWMnd1uSm37WSjquEWDcwKGZjz15dpivgQ.png

@drwom footer by the awesome @ryivhnn !!

drwom.png

Register for Universal Basic Income here: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=3ac18f2d78

Screen Shot 2018-03-12 at 12.45.33 pm.png

Sort:  

Well said! The people that benefit the most are the ones that persevere through times of hardship. Just think, was everything just handed to successful people e.g. Bill Gates? No. They went throigh times that really tested them but they still went through with their plans, look at them now! "A river doesn't cut through rock by its strength, but by its persistance". It is time like these which have the greatest long term benefits.

Love that line "A river doesn't cut through rock by its strength, but by its persistance".

Have a great day/night (where ever you are!)

🙃

Thank you! And you too!

If you are here for the long term and believe in the tech then short term fluctuations shouldnt affect your posting strategy - if anything you should actually post more while the price is down as there is less 'competition' and thus more likelihood your post will be seen. And as you said you dont know when the price will go up again!

That's a really good point 👍

Again, it makes no sense to me (that people stop posting wen the price is down), but you are right!

Thanks!

Yeah and I guess it also shows that some peoples main concern here is money. I mean we all want to make some money on here but it is such a good platform that it shouldn't matter to much

Hola @drwom
Interesante lo que señalas en el post.
De verdad no soy experto en cryptomonedas. Apenas estoy leyendo, interesándome en esto.
Todavía estoy en proceso de aprendizaje para escribir.... Y no es por no saber hacerlo. Es simplemente que como que la MUSA no me ha llegado y todos los días le doy vuelta.
Ya vendrá el día que como se dice en el argot del Baseball... La boté de Homerum.
Considero negativo dejar de escribir por bajas en la moneda. En algún momento sube y us números subirán.
Buen Consejo el que das.
Ahhhhhh.... Te reestemeo y te seguiré
Gracias
Saludos, Suerte y Éxito.

Hahaha - thank you 🙃
Greetings, luck and success to you too!

I am guilty of that @drwom. Never saw posting during steem/sbd decline in price as an opportunity that could pay off handsomely,now I know so thank you.Guess I have to go back to winning ways.

I learned my lesson this summer into fall. I didn't stop posting because of the price but for other reasons, but I have long regretted it and was really sad to have missed out on such a chance to grow my account.

This round, I'm consistent. It's hard as a musician, especially as I just recently decided to now only post original content (no covers). But I'm really convicted this round to stay in the game no matter what things look like, and I am just waiting for that to pay off.

I do not care about the price of steam / sbd going up or down, will always keep writing

finally got my account today for me, it is all up from here. been really disheartening to see the posts BUT I think this is a wonderful idea!

Well said Wom!

Building a following and readership is all about consistency too. It’s human nature to just move onto the next piece of content if the blog in your routine that you enjoy hasn’t posted.

Consistency consistency consistency!

I agree. It’s like mining bitcoin or any other crypto. I don’t look at the dollar amount. I look at the numerical amount. You’re not mining for where the price is, you’re mining for where you want the price to be. All those little posts where you got $.20-$.30 cents payout......what are those going to be worth when STEEM is at $100? Also I look at it as an opportunity as there is less competition for the reward pool and whale votes when the price is down. And you could always add me to your auto voter =)

Great post as always, Doc.

Gotta keep tapping, but somethings are a little worrying.....

does this ring true for you as well....?

https://steemit.com/blog/@lucylin/is-there-something-disturbing-the-force-on-steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67