You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit necessary changes

in #steem6 years ago

People have made many suggestions.

There is always a major problem with them. All it takes is using multiple accounts, so the people that seem unfair would be unimpacted by any such changes.

The solutions are not easy or we'd have already implemented them. :(

The problem is this is a very new thing, and the problems we need to try to fix have never actually been seen exactly in this format before because this is a totally new paradigm.

This means there likely are solutions, but they are likely to be difficult, and require some seriously out of the box thinking.

So keep thinking...

Yet to save yourself some time in the future try to play devil's advocate to your idea.

If you can figure out how to get around your idea then the unfair people will be able to as well. Multiple accounts can get them around pretty much anything you propose.

Also we shouldn't EVER do things just so we can say "We did something".

We should do it if we can't figure out how to exploit it, and we see that it doesn't negatively impact people that are not being unfair.

We must also realize that reality is not FAIR. It is impossible to make something completely fair.

We can try to get closer to fair though. :)

Sort:  

I agree with you that two voting is not perfect and can be easily manipulated with multiple accounts but I am sure at some degree it will be better because not all people would do that. Beside that, if they have multiple accounts then they need to spread SP across them so their rating would be lower on some of that accounts and maybe they will be dolphins instead of whales :-)
Reality is not fair but we can at least try to make it fair as much as possible...

Loading...

Beside that, if they have multiple accounts then they need to spread SP across them so their rating would be lower on some of that accounts and maybe they will be dolphins instead of whales :-)

Doesn't work that way.

We had a whale who was #7 in power. He likes to flag stuff he doesn't like. I've seen posts go from $200 to $0 on this person's whim.

Eventually he broke into many accounts. Spread his power around.

Created some voting bots that people like to send money to so he made a fortune off of giving people up votes with other accounts people didn't know were his.

Yet it was still the same guy that was okay with "voting however he wanted" even if it crushed someone else.

He has many such accounts and several voting bots. I personally think at this point he may be the single most powerful person on the steem platform. He is very smart when it comes to these things.

In his defense he has supported some good causes too. He is human. We all have good things and bad things.

My only problem really with him was the "It's my power and I vote how I want" and the fact he couldn't make the leap to "these are my hands and I use them how I want" doesn't mean I should be choking and attacking people.

I figured it was better to just ignore stuff you don't like, and up vote what you do like.

He disagreed.

And like I said I suspect he is the most powerful person on the platform. It is simply spread across multiple accounts.

Spreading across multiple accounts does not decrease how much you can do with power. All it does is make it a little more tedious to login an vote with each of them, but most people just use a bot to do that.

I can't say that you are wrong but at least we can try to make Steemit better. All my life I have tried to make thing better. Even here, I am nobody, with no power to change anything and maybe my suggestions are wrong, but at least I am trying the way I can to make Steemit better. If you have some suggestion, you should say them loud and maybe somebody ho have power to change things will like that.
Easiest way is to say thing are like that and we can't do nothing with that...

Trying isn't good enough. That's why you need to polish your suggestions, maybe when they are good enough, will trying again work at making it better, but trying to make things better by offering suggestions that won't make it better, is not "at least" something you ought to be mildly proud of. It's indeed quite easy to say anything, even that things are like that and you have to accept them, it is harder to accept them and use the tool for what it is though, and a lot of times you have to know the difference between what you can change and what you cannot because trying to change some things isn't "at least I'm trying to make it better".

Just criticism whithout any suggestion is obviously only thing that you do...

I didn't have any suggestions, to me the problem is not yet a problem or rampant flagging.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62596.14
ETH 3021.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65