You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Consider Buying Steem. Be an Owner, not a Renter.

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

I think your math might be off. How much inflation did those Steem buys from July generate? Inflation used to be massive until the end of last year. Also, did you get other financial yields from owning that Steem? One of the best cases for buying Steem is that you get ongoing financial (and other) rewards from that purchase in various forms. Worth factoring those rewards into the analytical model you have.

For example, I don't think I've bought even half current Steem.

2nd point: there are people who denominate trading performance in...ETC? Why?

IMO, one should only value trading in their local FX or real world reserve currency but I understand the arguments for measuring in both BTC and Ethereum. But a volatile smaller coin seems like a poor way to contextualize performance.

Sort:  

Yes, that's true the inflation earlier on was much higher (and I did mention that briefly in the post). I tried to make the point that it was a good investment if you look at my wallet today, even though the price in terms of BTC is down (meaning some might argue just holding BTC would have better). I didn't go into all the details of why it was a good investment though.

There's a lot of ways to look at investments and some have the goal of increasing their local FX and some want to increase their cryptocurrency holdings (usually denominated in BTC, but also ETH as well).

No one has a crystal ball that works well enough to know the future. :)

The spreadsheet I have tracks things in terms of BTS, ETH, and BTC because depending on the market I'm trading in, all of those count as "money" to me, and if I'm going to trade one form of money for another, I like to track over time if that was a good trade or not or if I would have been better off just staying in one currency or another currency.

ETC really counts as "money" to you? That just seems bananas to me. It's worse than Ethereum (same tech, so same risk, but without the good parts and the development or community) in every way and has been proven to be just a marketing exercise as no one uses it for any actual smart contract projects (they all use Ethereum) and its price action has moved it from #3 in market cap to now #10.

The community isn't even strong to raise more than $60k for the one person who is trying there. I almost donated to him out of compassion.

https://dexaran.github.io/ICO/

It never really had a real raison d'etre and now it seems like it's out of pumps because there is just too much competition.

Sorry, I didn't even notice you said ETC not ETH. Nah, I'm not a fan of ETC. I've never owned any, and I don't see any exchange pairs with ETC.

Ah that makes way more sense! I just saw it on the side of your spread sheet and was like "hunh"

Oh wow! Haha. Yeah that's totally a typo. Thanks, will fix. I only recently added ETH pricing to my spreadsheet and clearly messed up that header.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 68781.96
ETH 3736.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73