WILL you donate your Steem account to someone else? WHY?

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

View this answer on Musing.io

This is one of the strangest questions I have ever read on the Musing platform. I am under the impression that the account in question is not a free account claimed with RC. Since I am here to kill time, allow me to tickle your fancy.

The only reason why you would giveaway your main account to someone else has to be a shady one. If I were to "donate" my account to someone, it would mean I wanted to disassociate myself from it.

What would I disassociate myself from? The cynical me could think of a few things.

1. Certain reputation on the platform

I am not referring to the pointless number next to our names. If I had a bad rep around the neighborhood, but still want to interact with the blockchain, it is an option.

2. Red herring for taxes, etc.

You cannot fool people with an understanding of the blockchain. If authorities manages to pin the accounts' previous activities to the new owner(s). Then, it is possible to get away scot-free. Until you get caught anyhow.

3. A set up/scam

I do not know the exact details, but this entails a scapegoat. I would be wary if someone offers their account to me without charge. Many Steemians are not familiar with the account recovery process. It is possible to scam the new owner(s) of funds after they have spent some time on your "former" handle.

----

Bottom line is, I would not do it because my account is my own. You should not accept a donated main account because of risks. Accepting claimed free accounts via resource credits is fine.

Good luck!

Sort:  

Now one year on the platform, thinking now that steem sucks for me, still would never donate my shitty account to anyone else))

Not even someone whose name is literally John Stone?

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Leonis from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Haver another happy year, !BEER


Hey @enforcer48, here is a little bit of BEER from @isnochys for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85