You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tron and Steem... What are the possibilities?

in #steem5 years ago

Be worried. I don't mind the exchange of ideas, but Tron has been mostly hype.

Well, I guess Steem would at least have better marketing then. lol

Sort:  

Each projects has it's strengths and weaknesses. My view is that Tron is just a re-engineered DPoS platform with some changes. Now, the steem blockchain could look at those changes and see what can be learnt.

The real strength of Tron has been their hype machine. As much as I feel projects should be understood on their fundamentals, the reality is that most people invest after watching a few videos, adverts or a tip from someone else. Very few will actually read the white paper, look at the tech specs etc.

If this interaction between @ned and Justin Sun can bring some of that Tron Hype, it would be a good thing in my view as we need more users, developers (and yes INVESTORS!) on the steem blockchain. I have seen projects that are far inferior get more publicity than the steem blockchain.

I am bit disturbed by @ned's attitude towards investors. Without people with funds purchasing steem, it is nothing more than a unit of account that inflates. Which may be great if all that he wants to create is a platform for dreamers who vote for each other to collect more steem.

In many ways, I am pleased to have a bear market, it looks like the more sensible voices are now being listened to and the euphoria has dissipated, creating a forum for better ideas.

Short term, I am bearish on steem, until I see some real progress. I have seen @themarkymark and @fulltimegeek ask some really good questions in regards to having witnesses that can run full nodes. I am suprised that the top 20 witnesses, who were being paid very well during the bull market, didn't invest some of that capital into full nodes. Or even pull their own wallets out and put some capital into infrastructure. If witnesses are not running full nodes, what's the point of them? Are they simply getting money for being popular? I am not a tech person, so please let me know if you think I am being too harsh.

The main problem is that the blockchain only compensates Witnesses for signing blocks. Full nodes are out-of-pocket expenses. If a way could be worked out that the blockchain could compensate those who run full nodes, it could be nice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63956.43
ETH 3320.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92