You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Open Freewrite Letter To The "Doers" Of Steem | From The Token "Kindergarten Teacher"

in #steem5 years ago

The thing about leaders is they don’t typically come with a Harvard MBA, 30 years of experience and are willing to work for cents an hour if that. They tend to be the people who try and do something beyond themselves and they tend to take responsibility. When things don’t go their way they know it's first and foremost their own fault.

I’m not a leader and I’ve hated being in decision making roles my entire life. Yet that is where I am today. Not because I have great soft skills, can acquire angle investors, or am smart. It’s because I just do things when others were unwilling. I see part of the bigger picture and l realize if someone did not step up and start doing what little they can with what abilities they have. That there would be even fewer opportunities for those coming up or are still active.

Where ever you go you tend to see the same small group of people. They are all spread out far too much in what I can only assume are in dozens or hundreds of projects. Some try and do everything they can and others I swear do the bare minimum to still claim credit. It really is not that hard to get spread out like that. You can’t blame them either for ending up like that. You want to help one place that requires you to be in another and another and another. You are off trying help such and such an opportunity to help them opens up but requires being active someplace else, making a new connection, trying help back for the kindness shown. This has been how Archdruid has been for me to the point I almost don’t type in there these days. Which means I need to remove a few discords!

Franky Steem needs so many doers you can’t fit them at a roundtable. I would have though Steem Feast would be the key place to work things out for those that can afford to attend and invest that kind of time. I don’t think adding another expensive trip is going have the impact everyone wants to it. Like Steemit needing to reduce staff. Cheaper and more inviting options are the ways to go forward.

I like my tiny corner of Steemit. I’m not expected to show up to a dozen meetings every week and listen to people drone on for hours on end (no offense to anyone). I have one live show a week I make time to attend in a community outside of Archdruid. I get to just watch and post a couple of memes/gifs/emoji’s in chat if I feel like it. No one expects anything from me and that is nice.

I’m simply in a state of “does someone want to do X,” “NO?,” Ok then “I just did X if I could.” I did not spend 10 times the effort looking for someone to do X and then next week find out they could not be around so X did not get done again. Which I do understand it makes me a bad team player as I prefer things to just get done sooner than later. This also means people will always be unhappy about X but they were unwilling to do it so little I has the energy to care much.

If you guys really think having an in-person meeting in some country is going “fix” anything then make a date and see who goes. This platform has and will just keep talking for years on end and not be doing much of anything. With the expectation of the same small group of people who just do instead of talking about it to death. The masses are good at patting themselves on the back when someone else picks up the workload.

I have no desire to do more than what little I am doing. I’m already not sleeping much to make what time I can. I just can’t afford the short to mid-term opportunity cost. Steem is a very long-term thing and I’m barely in the position to be doing what I am doing. I’m mostly here on this platform for a good time. If one day of what I was able to hold on becomes worth something to put towards a retirement account then great I finally have one of those. If not I had some good times, shared some laughs and meet some interesting people. I’m not going make my cost of living which for just about everyone on this platform takes priority as they are not either. Heck, 19 months worth of effort and it won’t even cover what I expect my Utility bills will be in December at the present price. Granted that is my own fault for the enjoyment of holiday baking and colorful lighting for the insane electric bill I always get; but, I would not have it any other way. It brings me what little joy I have left in this world. Which to me is far worth more than price tag to acquire it.

Tldr: less chatting more doing. We need cheaper alternatives (time invested, financially) so the doers of this platform are at least breaking even on opportunity cost in the short term to keep going. Whatever that is would enable more to do more. Shame can’t repo some of the bidbots VP that least help. I could have been doing what I needed to for tonight. Instead, I wrote a comment first. Enough hot air out of me time to go do what I do.

Sort:  

I agree, but I also think that when you have so many different people attempting towards the same goal.. open communication needs to happen. Otherswise the doing becomes a bit of a mess.

Fancy trips aren’t needed.. but I just think when people get into a room together with the mindset to get shit done, a lot can be accomplished.

Steemfest was wonderful.. but it was a social event, and Ned wasn’t even there for most of it. So, I just mean.. no social event, no fancy dinners, a meeting.. to get some business done. It doesn’t have to happen halfway across the world.. but the communication needs to be open or we are all just fighting against each other.

And I agree.. everywhere you go around here you see the same people doing the things that need to be done.. most of the time with no pay... to me, those are the people we should be listening to and working with, those are the passionate ones who are working their asses off to make this place successful. They can’t do it alone though.

And I get it.. as someone who has been here 11mths, working in many corners.. I’ve never even bought a cup of coffee with my Steem earnings. But I see big things coming and those of us who are working in our corners will get to buy some dang coffee (or pay an electric bill) eventually.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58576.55
ETH 2982.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71