Some Thoughts on Steemit

in #steem6 years ago



Why don't my posts make more money?
.....................................................................................................................................................
It seems that everyone is concerned about that.

Even those who claim that they are not on Steemit FOR the money. It's still ABOUT the money....other peoples money. Those nasty capitalists are not earning their money in an approved fashion.

Approved by whom you may ask?

Why approved by THEM of course. It's just not RIGHT that some folks can make a bunchaton of money posting about silly TRIVIAL things when THEY, up on their high horse, sanctimonious and self righteous, get very few votes (if any) posting about IMPORTANT stuff. They think DEEP thoughts...and everyone else is shallow. It's OUTRAGEOUS...they threaten to leave the platform.

Yet they never do.

But I digress.

@humanearl just posted Engaging Content & High Paying Content which triggered me and got me to thinking.

I might be able to shed some light on the subject.

Disclaimer: I'm just a fat minnow who doesn't play well with others. What I think I know might be wrong. What I think I know I learned from trial, error, and observation over the last sixteen months or so.

You have been warned.

What are the factors we are spoken of?

WHO Votes for your Stuff Matters

Obviously the major consideration is VOTES. Not just ANY votes either. WHO votes for your stuff is VERY important. That is, how much SteemPower do those who vote for your stuff have?

If a minnow, or minnow-bot (new term I just made up), or even a swarm of them, votes on your stuff it doesn't compare favorably to the vote of ONE Orca...much less a whale (or even a dolphin for that matter).

Why do they vote?

What attracts them? Why vote on YOUR stuff rather than the thousands and thousands of stuff posted by others?

SMALL, almost inconsequential, attractors are subject matter, formatting, pictures, spelling, etc. etc etc. Humans judge your posts by stuff like that and many others. It's a matter of taste thing. It's the market. You cater TO your market...you can't make the market do what YOU want it to.

HOWEVER....95% of the votes on Stemit are by bots. Bots don't care about any of that stuff. Bot's DO NOT CARE...period. They are incapable of caring, thinking, evaluating, or CURATING. They're parasites that live off the creation of others.

What can we do about it?

NOTHING

That's the way it is.
Certainly the game is rigged..but if you don't play...you can't win
Deal with it

How?

I think I've figured it out. Bot's are like flies...which are attracted by smell. They love the smell of money. If you HAVE money..they want some of it. Bots 'vote' on posts from accounts that HAVE money. Or in Steemit terms...HIGH STEEM POWER!

If you have a large amount of SteemPower you will attract more bots than if you don't.

What can you do about it?

first you can post a LOT.
A bunchaton of posts will attract more flies...er...I mean bots..than very little.

BUT

Target your market. Post what your followers WANT. Post quality...as defined by the people who follow you...the reason they follow you in the first place.

Why bother? Bot's do all (most) of the voting?

Well here's the thing. All of your followers have parasites...er...I mean 'bots that follow THEM. If they (your followers) are attracted to your posts (because of quality) the bot-swarm that follows THEM will (maybe) vote on it too.

That's one thing....here's another thing.

Fake it until you make it

By that I mean leverage. By that I mean delegation.

Rent SteemPower

Bots can't tell the difference between an account with 50,000 home grown SP or one with 1,000 homegrown SP and 49,000 delegated. RENT some SteemPower.

There are several services who are doing it.

NOTE: Some (many) are Scams

Be careful. Do your OWN due diligence. Check it out for your ownself. You're a big boy (gurl) now.


So...in summary.

Post...a lot.
Post good quality.
Fake it till you make it.

THAT's how you make money on Steemit

Sort:  

Everybody is here to make some money

yes and no.

what do you mean ?

I mean you're partly right.
and partly wrong.
and off topic.

I know but every time someone writes about making money here I always think about that . Can you explain please ?
Who is or who will pay the bill ?

Imagine santa's elves...
poor little guys..they're making presents as fast as they can..
now imagine a (thousand or more) computers...making steem.

who assigns the value to the presents that santa's elves make?
who assigns the value to the steem?

Let me put it another way

  1. why does it matter?
  2. If you want to know the mechanics..'how it all works'.
    a. read the white paper
    b. read about eleventy zillion posts on steemit that 'splain

note: between the time you axed that question...and now.
I made $111.00
SBD transfer from wallet to BlockTrades to Coinbase ....
and now it's appreciateing..

why do I CARE where it comes from?
I'm making money off of it.

scratch that...
make it ANOTHER $60..
almost $200 in the last twenty minutes..

"We all withdraw or we are planning to withdraw money from here ."

I don't. I submit you are actually wrong, at least about me.

I have no means of withdrawing Steem, even though I actually thought I needed to last week.

I cannot spend one satoshi of it.

"Sooner or later we will reach the point when more money is withdrawn than invested..."

When this occurs in a financial system, it causes downwards price pressure on the currency.

I don't think you want that to happen, unless I misunderstand the tenor of your remark.

When more money is dumped on the market than there is a demand for, the value of the money decreases.

Even though it is physically impossible for me to use Steem as money directly, the value of Steem is something I very much want to see increase, as the value of the platform to me is dependent on the value of Steem.

I believe we both want the value of Steem to rise. Am I correct?

I do want steemit to succeed and steem to rise . Just not sure how things work ..

Perfectly understandable.
I don't either.
The people who make the rules...who write the code..
think differently than we do
They're PROGRAMMERS...a different breed.
They don't speak the same language that we do.
When they use words that we think we know what they mean.
they don't.

So..the best you can do is the best you can do.
Don't Sweat the Petty Stuff
and
Don't pet the sweaty stuff
Steem ON!

"Don't pet the sweaty stuff"

You're no fun!

LOL

The programmers don't control Steemit. They work for those that do.

There are 39 accounts that own 93% of the Steem in the world, and the devs work to satisfy that market.

The fact that Steem is increasingly concentrated at an accelerating rate in those accounts shows the devs are doing a good job.

You are quite inspirational. I have somewhat emulated your model, although I post less. Your refusal to buy votes, or self-vote, remain startling examples of integrity, even though you clearly are willing to work hard to attain to rewards.

I have only seen you self-vote but rarely, maybe twice. Given your interest in rewards, your integrity is extremely admirable, and your success shows that neither bots, nor self-votes, are required to succeed on Steemit.

Thanks very much for your example.

I hope you are having the best Christmas of your life, right now!

I self vote strategically.
quite a lot actually
you must have missed it.
not comments though
that would not be strategic
according to my master plan.

I do spend my attention around the place a lot. I probably miss more of your posts than I see.

me too
I've seen you around
my (current) strategy is to vote (at a variable power) for anything I like.
then when It comes time to shut 'er down (for a while)
I use what's left of my vote power (above a variable percent)
on myself.

if your vote power EVER reaches %100 that means you're wasting it.
that's a sin.

You can't make Steemit succeed, or make Steem rise. You can contribute to both, by posting and commenting substantively.

I hope those aren't the primary goals you have in life.

I suggest you decide what your personal goals are, in terms of your interaction on Steemit, and proceed to achieve them accordingly, while learning as much as is reasonable about how things work.

As you learn new things, adjust your goals accordingly.

@everittdmicky has written a great success story on Steemit, and you can hardly go wrong following his model (if not his advice).

The world isn't fair, and doesn't care what you think. Make of your life what you will. As long as Steemit let's us interact, you'll make my life better, and I'll be grateful =)

Merry Christmas!

Ok , thanks . Merry Christmas to you too

Simple and to the point, everyone wants their money now though!

An eye opener thanks for sharing. Will be implementing all of the suggestions made here to my Steem account. Merry Christmas.

Your welcome and happy new year to you too (christmas is past...hope you had a good one)

Christmas was great,looking forward to the new year.thanks for the upvote.Happy new year in advance.

You never fail! @everittdmickey , I've been a huge fan of yours, I learned a lot on how to play the game here. Last week I learned about buying steem from your post and now this one! Thanks!

you're very welcome.
i live to serve.

Fake it till you make it, im definitely getting some sp lease soon, well i post once a day and i believe thats fair enough thanks for this post sir @everittdmickey

This suggestion is based on experience i guess, so will i no key into it, afterall experience is the best teacher.

I should go complete my next post

@phunke

Good post. Which steemrent you recommend? I dont have experiences but minnowbooster looks fair to me..

I don't know anything about minnowbooster. I havn't checked it out.
I use blocktrades myself...seems fair.

You are absolutely correct as to the way it works. Merry Christmas and all the best for the new year!

Appreciate the mention and I really think your points are valid. That was my understanding was that it's not just one thing as to why a person's payouts are not higher.

People do lean towards the look and feel of certain posts. We all can learn and make adjustments to how we produce content. Thanks for the insight brother.

you're most welcome.

A great post believe me. Thats how it really works here now a days. Fake it till you make it :) Merry Christmas!

i is not a bot ;-) very insightful post and after about a week of trying out steemit I am still not rich, lol. I didn't know about the parasites and how they might latch onto me so thanks for the tip. I can also say I feel like one of those pouting wanna be rich folks, I was amazed that my cat posts were profitable and my brilliant politics resteems got ignored.

strange huh?

been here a week?

that LONG?

still not rich. You must be doing something wrong.
Send Me all of your steem and I'll think about the problem.
I might (no guarantees) do something about it for you..

😂😂 probably been upvoting wrong posts, lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63096.57
ETH 2954.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55