You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Downvoting abuse

in #steem7 years ago

I'm not sure why but that was confusing.

Maybe start by explaining downvoting (in a new community) before talking about solutions to a problem some people may not know exists, because they don't know how it presently functions.

I think aim more for 'educational' rather than soliloquy voiced as discussion.

If I see a post that is spam should I down vote it? Is that how it works. I don't mean "that I don't like"... but it just objectively bringing down the standard of posts on steem?

thx

Sort:  

I agree there are some clarity issues with the post, but the point is important: we're starting to see too much downvoting stuff just because someone disagrees with it or gets offended by it.

Downvoting (as presently implemented) is a form of censorship and thus should be used sparingly. Spam and abuse (objectively and demonstrably false claims, plagiarism, bullying, etc) are legitimate to downvote, but downvoting because you disagree with someone (as in the case of @sneak and @elfspice) is inappropriate (and I am disappointed to see @sneak engaging in this kind of censorship).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69125.27
ETH 3788.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61