Bot delegations: greed or common sense?

in #steem6 years ago

I have been here over a year and have built up some Steem Power and have bought some. I have hit my goal of 5000 SP for this year and all this just by getting involved with crypto.

Lately there are big discussions going on around all the bid bots and my standpoint is two fold.

I like curating new posts but do not always have the time. If I would not delegate then my vote would be double what it is now ( at this moment roughly 0.4) But I have delegated out 2198 SP,

Some of these projects give me some revenue, some do not and that is not really important to me. I also get some passive income from the Smartsteem delegation which in a way makes up for the other delegations.

This is something I would advise everyone to do. This system uses the votes that you would be able to cast while you are sleeping or on holiday or not that active on the platform and sells them so you get another passive income stream. This is part of the same setup that @therealwolf made with Smartsteem and you can find out all about it on www.smartsteem.com

  • I also go around and spread my votes and comments, mostly to those accounts I follow but also to some random posts I find in the "new" section

And that is what I assume most of us that have been on this platform a while do. I could also delegate my whole balance to a bot and not help out and that would bring me a lot more revenue like some do. I have chosen to take a balanced approach and only because I now have a bit more SP and this allows me to do so.

So no matter the amount of SP I have this is the balance I have found that works for me

- 60% keep under own control for curation and voting comments on my posts

- 20% deserving projects

- 20% smartsteem

It is not all black and white, most stuff is grey.

What is your approach on this topic?

I guess those that delegate everything do not have the RC to answer me anyway but I would like to know your opinion. I know some people are very much against the bots and some just do not care. Others use them but do not really understand them. And most do not realise that they can also make a loss.

Sort:  

My approach is not delegating anything to any bots. I might in a near future delegate to good projects that bring some SMT tokens.

Posted using Partiko Android

I have delegated to smartsteem just because I know the dev and know I can trust him to do what is right for steem as a whole. But indeed, going the SMT delegation option is not a bad way to do it. get some extra coins out of it

Hi @felander!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.966 which ranks you at #1101 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 1100).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 471 contributions, your post is ranked at #182.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95