You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Looking at Publish0x and finding questions

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

I did check it out when it launched.

I wasn’t entirely convinced it is blockchain based tbh. Bounty0x, the mothership who launched publish0x, are ETH based. You couldn’t store much on ETH in a second, so 20 posts in 5 hours is a good thing. And even that would be expensive for the team after a while.

It seemed to me that it runs (ran) just on a database, pretty much like a hosted blogging platform like Medium but then had a steem-similar rewards mechanics (and referrals!) integrated. They also mentioned in one of the early post that they are able to delete offensive posts and none of those posts referred to any blockchain tech being integrated. I definitely didn’t spot things like immutable in their launch posts.

I like that earnings are being expanded to more tokens, all traded tokens. But what’s the value if some “mad admin” can decide they don’t like you and delete your content. And nuke your rewards.

No thanks. It’s bad enough Google and AdWords, and others, can already demonetize with just a click —often also nuking until then pending rewards. The world doesn’t need more platforms like that. If you go crypto... then go crypto and support immutable and full [wallet] ownership.

If they have since shifted to a blockchain-based setup... somebody please let me know, as then I may review my opinion on them.

Sort:  

Thanks, I forgot the paragraph on not a blockchain. The ability to delete means less shit posts I think but, at what cost? Too high for me.
As said, if you go crypto, it has to be ownership.

So I decided to try the platform out again. Don't judge me... everyone loves some free $BAT.

After writing my post, when hitting publish I was presented with this pop-up.

D0FFFB5EAF924864AA5DF278AA84C499.png

‘Nuff said

The first one is almost okay

This is my original content

But even that has caveats

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63094.38
ETH 3148.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88