Sort:  

Didn't delegating SP to people who doled out the VP to good people net benefit individuals who were in turn acting selflessly and helping others who were also doing good on the blockchain in a direct, targeted fashion, creating tiers of generosity, whereas attacking 1 person returns some steem/sbd to the reward pool but that is just then shared in a blanket way by everyone else, including those who are themselves exploiting the reward pool, which at this point probably represents a majority of the voting activity anyway?

It's all a matter of degree. Abuse on a small scale is different from abuse on a large scale. The "probably represents a majority of the voting activity anyway" is not a good argument unless the goal is to watch the platform die. The point is to make improvements and move towards a better shared goal, right?

I guess I am just cynical towards it because most of the damage to his rewards will have been done after the period of peak profitability has already passed. There definitely would not be enough VP to combat all those who self-vote 80%+ and those delegating only to bots, though.

You gave me an interesting idea for a regular report on who is self-voting and bot-voting the most and a call-to-action for those with significant VP to downvote the content (much like the "Operation Clean Trending" post I referenced in my original post).

My vote is only worth about $14 right now, but I am certainly considering using it regularly to bring Haejin's reward down a bit. I personally think that job lands to those who have far more Steem Power than I do as his actions are impacting their investment more than it impacts mine (meaning, they have far more to lose and they can deal with flag wars much easier than I can).

My vote is worth $0.14 but I flag that mofo. If we do not build the type of ecosystem where everyone can have a place, then STEEM will lose momentum and go into decline.

It's all about the community and network, that is the true value of STEEM.

@lukestokes, would ask that you check out @flagawhale if you have a chance. It's a flag incentivization project tailored to address whale abuse.

If we come together using strategy and tactics, we will accomplish a lot more than if we go it alone or wait for whales that care to do it for us.

There may be a lot more people involved than you think. It's all spectrums of SP also, not just whales.

So everyone except freedom can just pass the buck up to some bigger stakeholder who can better afford the downvoting, has less to lose from flag wars, and has more to lose from the system not thriving?

Sounds to me like a recipe for more of the same.

EDIT: I'm not blaming you by the way. I indeed think we will see more of the same until the economic incentives built into the system are changed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64172.03
ETH 3144.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85