Decision To Manually Curate Content

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

Greetings Steemian's,

Some of you may have reached this point, the point where you've amassed the amount of Steem Power which brings you from plankton, to minnow, the point in which you realize your vote has actual monetary value, and with this value, comes responsibility.

At this point, you may also come to realize that not only do you obtain the ability to pay others for their content, but also, earn money yourself by voting other's content.

If you care at all about the implications, it could be a bit to digest.

There are a host of things you can do with your Steem Power at this point, and the decisions you make, have an impact on the economy of Steem. Knowing, and understanding this, adds to the burden of responsibility, and I personally take it very seriously, because after all, I believe in Steem, so it's my moral responsibility to protect it's intrinsic value to the best of my abilities.



I like the idea of automation as a means to support quality content creators, but I also feel that manual curators are a must for the blockchain, and I also feel I am a good judge of quality, with an aptitude, and ability to maximize the use of my vote, in a positive way for Steem.

Does it sound like I'm trying to sell myself for a job position? I suppose it might, but this is ok with me. I like others to know my intentions for Steem, and my role in it's economy. Let's look at the pros and cons of automation for a minute.



Pros:

  • Efficient consistent support for content creators.
  • Set it and forget it style appeal.
  • Less waste of VP during downtimes.
  • Maximum potential for curation rewards, due to set vote times.
  • Circle jerk style support (This is a reality) (could also be considerd a con)

Cons:

  • Less available VP for manual curation.
  • Harder to manage VP because of posting inconsistencies.
  • Some users stop posting (human nature, inconsistency)
  • Expectations are not met when technical issues occur.
  • Jealousy, anger, resentment can occur with users.
  • Abuse of auto's can occur at times.
  • Constant tweaking of auto's becomes a chore, and time consuming.
  • New members feel they have less chance at success, because automation takes from the potential to reward growing user base.

I feel these are very real, logical, and sound as far as pros and cons are concerned, and I think often about this.

I want Steem to succeed, and I feel my role in this, in one capacity, is to manually curate, much more so, than autonomously.

I've decided to cease autovotes, but for a couple of accounts. No need to discuss my reasons for this, as it's mostly personal choice, and due to my relationship with them, as well as a very strong propensity towards feeling they are deserving of the automation.

I cannot however, continually support as many accounts as I have been actively supporting with my VP with automation. It's become too difficult with the low SP that my account has.

So the decision is final, I will now manually curate, manage my VP according to my schedule, and hope that my decision is good for Steem in the long run.

That is all, good day Steemian's.


Disclaimer: All images used in this post, are under Creative Commons CC0. pixabay and are used in accordance to compliance regarding copyrights.



Get some good karma into your life, vote @good-karma for witness!

Steem witnesses
bjj27qo8l7.png


Please consider voting helpie for witness

Our hope is that those who decide to support @helpie's efforts do so because they see the value in people too.

image.png



Much love,
@futuremind


Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by futuremind from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Excellent choice my fiend!

Thank you my friend!

It's always nice to receive your positive feedback :)

I'm very glad to hear that! Maybe I should revise my list :)

I don't know, this depends on how much drain your auto's have, and your ability to still manually curate with autos. I've seen your steemworld before, your VP is always high. I think you must be a master curator. I should probably be asking you for advice for revisions !

Hahaha, I'm really careful, otherwise I would be out of VP in no time :P

I still have my moments...

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 17 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 7 SBD worth and should receive 128 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95