The (somewhat less) clueless crypto novice rides a wave

in #steem5 years ago

Following my recent success in setting up my CoinSpot account I thought I'd follow up with an update on how things have been going with the site and in general with my initial foray into crypto-currency buying.

I've been riding the crest of a wave generated by my initial experience, one that I had expected was going to be disastrous; At least in the as far as the complexity of the set up process and time frame. As my last post says, it wasn't too difficult at all though.

beach1851101_1280.jpg

Buoyed by my success I decided to try some transactions with the $50AUD I had deposited into my account. I purchased some Litecoin, a small amount only, and was glad to see the transaction go through cleanly and my CoinSpot Litecoin wallet credited with the correct amount. It felt good, the feeling that this all seemed to work, and I was looking forward to getting some more funds in there to permit some more, larger coin purchases.

The following day at work I thought I'd get onto the computer, my own laptop, not my work computer, and navigate over to my Exodus account. This was set up many months ago when I was in Finland on holiday and to date hadn't been used other than to receive a small amount of ETH to test it. It was at that point things went pear-shaped. If you're not aware what that means, it means that things went FUBAR. If you're not sure what that means, it means that things went fucked up beyond all recognition. A slight exaggeration possibly...But only just.

I opened Exodus on my computer, typed my password and...Yes, you know where this is going right? No access. Re-type...No access...Re-type, being really careful to make sure I got it right...Ah ha...No access. Fucking fuckety fuck!

I guess I wasn't so worried about the small amount of ETH held in there, more the fact that this looked to be the end of my crest of a wave scenario that had, until now, seen me cutting sick like Kelly Slater on said wave. My formerly tubular crypto ride was now more of a closeout, a shitty wave to ride. Non-bodacious.

I keep all my passwords in a password keeper, a Norton version. It works really well and hasn't failed me but somehow I'd messed up and was locked out. I also have my keys and passwords printed and stored in my safe at home but the problem was it was the same password as in my Norton thing so that wasn't going to help! At the time I didn't realise what my recovery phrase was all about although I sort of worked it out and only a short two hours later I was back in! No, it didn't take me two hours, I had an appointment in the middle.

So, back up and running I thought I'd try a transfer into CoinSpot. I transferred the ETH I was holding in Exodus and in only a few short minutes it sat in CoinSpot waiting for me to do something with it. Sweet, the wave was back and I was carving it up!

Now I know some of you reading this may be thinking, "this guy is a compete idiot," and you're probably right to some degree but for someone not used to this process and these concepts, a newbie, it's all a bit daunting. I'm working on it though and problems, like above, all go towards gaining the knowledge I will need later on when hopefully there's a lot more money held in my accounts.

So this little episode helped get me more organised. I think the password thing must have stemmed from me changing the password in Exodus but not on Norton, a mistake I won't make again. It also reiterated the importance of keys and in ensuring they are secure, and correct.

Overall I'm moving it all forward I think. My decision to get onto CoinSpot seems to have worked out and they even called my mobile to welcome me personally. The young lady told me not to give my details to anyone, not even CoinSpot and also the process to contact them if I needed to which I thought was pretty cool; A little personal touch in an environment that is all about cyber-contact.

It'll be a while before I hold much crypto-currency however the understanding I'm gaining now will pay dividends later when I have gazillions!

wave im srce

Sort:  

Yaay! :)
I remember my first time on bittrex, oh boy... everything is everywhere - it was flying. :)

Now I'm waiting my driving license to arrive to open up coinspot and/or coinjar. :) need to spend some money I don't use :D

It's a bit daunting but I assume it will get easier.

Posted using Partiko Android

It happened to me as well with Exodus that I forgot the password. I was thinking at that time to use the wallet without a password after I found it, but I don't think it's a good idea. Reading your post makes me think that the bear market is really over. People that don't talk too much about crypto start checking their wallets and getting prepared. Hope 2019 will be similar with 2017 and that I will be able to FINALLY get some profits out of my invested in crypto money. I hope...

Let's hope things have turned the corner and are on the improve huh?

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't think this stuff gets easier over time...well, maybe if you use these a lot (like a real lot), but for occasional uses, I think it's just as daunting each time. And I think that's part of its charm :D Good thing you got your password thing sorted :)

Yeah, was a bit stressful. I figure I need to get it sorted and more comfortable with it now prior to things ramping up with my crypto-millions! 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes I agree all this crypto stuff is very daunting at first.

Posted using Partiko Android

This is a very familiar experience and why adoption is still slow at this point in time. Until security and interface improves, many will prefer a third party handling their funds unfortunately! Now, you must graduate and get a hardware wallet!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I've heard about hardware wallets...Sounds like hard work 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Fu@$%ng fu$#%@y f&%k..... lmfao...! Love it. Keep "Carving it up"...... I laughed so hard I think I peed a little.......

Naw, not there yet.

But you did make me LOL.

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha, then mission accomplished!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.416 which ranks you at #2164 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 7 places in the last three days (old rank 2157).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 172 contributions, your post is ranked at #45.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63252.23
ETH 3035.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73