Sync WordPress posts or pages to steemit

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Introduction

Guys, this is a post from my WordPress blog. It's synced using my recent released plugin "WP to Steemit" (https://wordpress.org/plugins/wp-to-steemit/#installation).

Why the heck I wrote this plugin?

Two weeks ago, I met up with some of my friends who are the professional bloggers and YouTubers. I talked and explained to them about the steemit. They are very interested in steemit and how it works. However, they were wondering whether they still can use their existing blogs on WordPress and publish their posts to steemit at them same time. Yah smart people are always lazy. Well, it is not a big deal! That's why I've built this plugin to help them and probably you as well.

Features

Currently, this plugin has there features:

  • Syncing our WP post or pages content to your steemit account
  • Updating...

Please leave your feedbacks and other features that you need. I will integrate them to the plugin. Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Okay. There are a few things I see now.

  1. When it adds the post to Steem, it's all in "Text", not "Visual" so I can't update it very easily.
  2. There was no option to add tags. It automatically gave the tags of: steemjs and steem.
  3. The pictures come out wrong. Some of them came out double, 1 big, 1 small. I assume those are the ones that I changed the sizes on before posting.
  4. In the places where I use my [smartads], it has: (Unsupported undefined). So my ads do not appear there.
    --
    I do not see anything else wrong at this time.

in #4, your [smartads] belongs to any plugins I guess?
Ok. Thanks for your feedback, I will improve #1, #2 and fix #2.

[smartads] is Google AdSense advertising. It's how I make money on my blogs. I don't know if it's something you can fix or not.

Yah I am finding the solution to solve custom tag in WordPress editor. Maybe, we have to ignore it I am not sure Steemit will support them.

I'm sure that if there is a way, you'll find it. What you have is way better than what I did have ... nothing. I'm not complaining, except it'd be nice if those things were fixed.

This is great. My main concerns are:

  • maintaining text / image layouts.
  • separating the tags - I would want to use different tags on my blog, and on the Steem version of my blog
  • Consider adding a Steem footer, that would post like a "signature" only on Steem, but not on Wordpress. You see these sorts of footers sometimes with people saying for example, "Vote for me as Steem Witness." They will put that at the bottom of all their Steem posts. That is good for a Steem post, but makes no sense for a Wordpress post.

Thanks for your comment. I am improving the features and will update soon on this week. Cheers!!!

btw could you please give me some example of the 3rd point?

Yes. Look at this link: https://steemit.com/blog/@terrybrock/steemit-success-series--timcliff-on-who-to-target-with-your-content-1512178826-124805

Scroll down just past the youtube video. The part that starts, "Terry Brock, MBA..." all the way to the end of the post, including the picture and graphics, is a piece of code that the @terrybrock pastes at the end of all his posts so people know other sites he runs, etc.. If we could append something similar to the end of our wordpress posts, that would be great.

For instance, I can say, "Visit my web site" at the end of every post. This would make sense on Steem, to have that, but makes no sense to post it if my readers are reading that and they are already on my website. Hope that makes sense.

Thanks for your reply. It's a good point to implement.

I tried it with WordPress 4.9.1 and it worked great. I really appreciate this. Now I can get things done much faster and better. It's so much easier than the one I had before (the one that stopped working). Your post Upvoted and Re-Steemed.

Thanks for sharing! How does this compare to https://wordpress.org/plugins/wp-steem/#developers ?
I heard that it takes a cut (not sure if that's still true) https://steemit.com/wordpress/@fknmayhem/wordpress-steemit-crossposting-earn-more-from-blog
Does yours do that as well? (I have yet to browse the source, but will do that shortly)

hi mate, my plugin is totally free as I mentioned on the blog that I just wanted to help some of my friends and bloggers who want to enjoy Steemit. So far, you can use my plugin to sync your pages/posts to Steemit. I will improve some features asap.

I'm following you now to read about future updates to this plugin. Thanks again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66