How many of you would like to see evergreen content on steemit?

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Perhaps not evergreen but something that could produce content and curation rewards over a period longer than the current 7 days?

I've heard it mentioned and griped about in a number of ways (mostly its a scaling problem) so, looking to do something about it and have been supporting a project that may just be able to produce this steem blockchain miracle, kinda like these grapes in a desert.

Grapes aren't evergreen but when you see them growing in a desert then you know something is afoot.

All photos taken by me in the Kalahari desert Namibia.

Drop some comments and suggestions below or simply just stick around and wait for the reveal.

PS. There is a teeny tiny little hint in the picture below

Sort:  

Apart from evergreen, I think there are some posts that should be immortalized because of their timeless impact on the blockchain, I think steemit needs a page for these kind of posts I could call it THE STEEM HALL OF FAME

One of the things on the table

Yeah, I think so too what do you think?

Good idea! I love the way you said "immortalized". It made me remember something :)

Yeah I think I have a lot of post I want steemit to immortalize, it's a way to go

I totally agree and have been thinking about various ways of enabling evergreen content on top of the current Steem protocol. It's a shame that short-term content and ridiculous postings are being rewarded more than well-researched, valuable content.

I'd love to see authors of guides, tutorials, journalistic pieces and the like get more and long-term rewards as opposed to news articles, memes and more-than-daily snapshots or updates.

What would be a good way of developing such ideas?

Yes! I just wish people that spend the time and energy to create helpful content on this platform were rewarded more than a post with just a meme. I understand that people can do what they would like with their SP but I see posts all the time from people that are trying to make this platform a better place with tutorials or educational posts and they aren't being rewarded like I believe they should be. I try to give them upvotes but my .03 doesn't do much.

Accounts like tribesteemup and others are doing an awesome job to promote great content I just hope more people start to do the same.

I am also excited about the idea of a evergreen reward system. I know personally I have researched the Steemit platform using posts that were 11 months old and they were extremely helpful but there wasn't a way for me to show my appreciation. Hopefully soon that will change!

Keep us updated @gavvet

exactly, all will be revealed shortly.

Are you working on a certain project regarding this?

Awesome! I am excited for a reveal!

Thanks for being a blessing and sharing! You are amazing! You've got a new follower!

Awesome! I wrote up my ideas here: https://steemit.com/steem/@grintsch/how-to-build-a-system-to-promote-evergreen-content-on-top-of-steem

Happy to discuss - obviously, you'd like to have all that on protocol level, but what can we do...

Sounds Amazing!

Hmm... grapes.... make wine... and wine gets better with age...posts... possibly could age well too...

I got it!

We are going to drink wine while we wait for the answer!

😊drinking some now but the answer is not coming to me

Thanks for being a blessing LOL! You've got a new follower!

Great suggestion!

I'd go even further: a personalized Steem(it) desktop for all those evergreens would be huge - a starting screen where I can decide which type of content I wanna see according to my personal preferences. That would require a more detailed tagging and sorting mechanism, and would probably lead to a more fulfilled user experience. Currently the only "sorting feature" we do have is the follow button that accumulates (depending on how many you follow) hundreds of posts per day in one single feed. A desktop with several windows would be much better. Examples for windows / sorting options:

  • All blog posts from people I follow tagged with #photography
  • Latest blog posts from my favorite 3 Steem dApps tbd
  • News from Steemit Inc
  • Steem Hall of Fame (see above suggestion from @josediccus
  • Top 10 new users (best rep score / payout / followers,...) = great motivation tool / incentive for newbies
  • .....

You name it :-)

I believe that an important characteristic in a content creation and distribution network is that content is actively offered by the UI. That will automatically lead to a higher engagement = more integrity = better user experience.

Hehe, but he's not a newbie anymore :-)

these are all great suggestions, some you will get quite soon, others will take time to build but we have many of these in mind for further development

Sounds terrific! :-)

Btw I just published the results of the Steem Summer Survey in my blog - even more suggestions and feedback from steemians, in case you'd like to have a look at it :-)

Ok... what is this.... grapes and photovoltaics ? Don't get it .... Why is the grapes there? Protect from the dust?

A diversion...

Interesting idea. I think for such "long" posts need a separate tab on the main page, or something like the function "stick on top" as do on the forums. Set the time limit, if there was no uptotes or comments for a certain time, then the fixed one is removed from this page.

Interesting... Thanks for being a blessing and sharing that information. Following you...

Watch out for the weeds.

For the moment 7 days period is more then better and i am saying this because we are in a stage when we want mass adoption.
It is easier for the moment to that with a time frame of 7 days regarding the rewards... again we are talking about mass adoption.
After we will have at least 1 Million active accounts ( yeap i mention active) we can think about it... of course this will have to involve the development team and the witnesses and so on!
Now as you know the SMT's are around the corner and one of them is about projects that involve a greener planet... i am keeping an eye on it as i like the project and i want to delegate some steem power to the project.
Have a great evening all and always Steem On!

Interesting! It works, if YOU work it!

Great to hear about this, would like to see and know more about this @gavvet. Could also grab a sizable share from medium.com if done right

Baby steps, but yes plenty is possible.

Sounds Pretty Amazing!!

Me Too!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61146.27
ETH 2924.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58