Minnow! My First 30 days on SteemIt

in #steem6 years ago

What a wild ride the last 30 days have been. I have learn a metric ton from all of you, so thank you for being awesome. Here's what my first 30 days have looked like.

Top Post

My Top post was I think pretty predictable. My IntroduceYourself Post! here

Top Comment

My top comment came from haejin.

What I learned

  • SP vs VESTs
  • SP vs Steem vs SBD
  • Bandwidth
  • Voting Power
  • Post Promotion
  • Bots

What I regret

I tried using "promotion" on one of my posts and I definitely regret that. At that point I didn't really understand what any of the SBD vs Steem vs Steem Power... I pretty much wasted $1.00 SBD.

At one point I got very lower on voting power as well as I didn't really realize that was a thing. It took several days for it to recover back to 100%

What I did well

I think I did a great job learning the platform and all of the tooling around it. I probably spend too much time monitoring my "stats" on steemd, steemstats and steemDB.

My Goals

I really want to start gaining more Steem Power, but I am at a loss at the moment on how to generate it. Currently I am trying to start comment threads on popular items, however the payouts are merely just cents. It only really seems to matter when someone with a lot of steem power replies to you directly and up votes. I think that's a bit of a shame as just because someone doesn't have a lot of steem power doesn't mean that their contribution to the conversation should be weighted lower at least in my opinion.

I think it's incredibly difficult as a minnow starting out to fully understand all that is going on but that's just part of the learning process.

Starting February Stats

  • VESTS 2644
  • SP 1.292

I want to triple those in Feb. I think it's pretty doable given that My rewards payout within the next week should be almost double of what my account is worth now. I feel as if I got very lucky with a few of my comments and that's why I am succeeding.

Investing

Given the current market for crypto, I am semi-considering buying some steem to get some steem power; but I need to do more research on how much and what the ROI might look like. It definitely seems like it's one of those things where if I invest early it pays out in the long run.

Anyway I look forward to another month of SteemIt! This is definitely way better than just randoming around on Reddit ;) You all have an excellent MemeGame and I hope to up my meme level a few on dmania.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit.com

Wellcome to the community!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66924.38
ETH 3111.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75