The Sky Is Falling Again

in #steem5 years ago (edited)


Uh Oh. Here We Go Again!


Steemit Inc is starting a power down of 34 million Steem and a lot of people are panicking. 😱

I just roll with the punches these days when things like this happen.

If you want to read a decent commentary on it I recommend reading @tarazkp's latest post. He talks about it much better than I can.

It looks like we're heading for another round of the speculation game. 😂

Hold onto your hats!!!

The good news is it gives me an great excuse to post another picture from my recent trip to Gozo!


Gozo View.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Sort:  

Another day, another dose of Chicken Little, eh, @gillianpearce?

I definitely know I would rather be anywhere near that photo than the below freezing temperatures we're experiencing right now. :)

I guess it's good to roll with the punches, if you can't stop the punches, that is.

Perspective is good and needed, along with a healthy dose of reality. Why are we on STEEM? What can we do if things go wrong? Does running around screaming the sky is falling actually help, or does it do more damage?

If there's a fire in a crowded theater, and people yell, "Fire!" thinking they need to warn the people, to save them, but more people end up dying in the resultant trampling due to panic, than would have from smoke inhalation or burning had everyone kept their cool, which is better?

I think I'd rather risk being singed than being crushed outright.

Well I am seriously considering going back to blogging and resurrecting my old website. I just need to find someone who can do a quick revamp for me. I'm sure many of the plug-ins are no longer needed and/or out of date.

Steem Monsters is down the pan now as far as I'm concerned, with the new season changes, so I have to decide if I want to hold onto my cards or sell them or keep one account to play.

There's no rush on that front though.

Those glorious sunny days in Gozo seem a long time ago now although the last couple of days here have been pretty mild and almost springlike.

The snowdrops are out which always has a positive effect. 😁

Blogging on your own website as opposed to blogging on STEEM? Doing both?

I'm sorry to hear that something's changed to make you feel like moving away from Steem Monsters. I think you're right about there not being a rush to decide what to do with accounts/cards. Especially if/when STEEM makes a move.

Well, other than waiting to see what musing is going to do, once they have their voting power back, I'm hoping to plug away here for as long as I can. U say as long as I can because I still (probably) need to seek some other form of gainful employment, if only to make my wife happy. Or so she says. (I'm not convinced it will make her happy. It will probably just lead to something else :).

Blogging on your own website as opposed to blogging on STEEM? Doing both?

The thought was to post on my blog and use the steempress plug in to post automatically here because why not?

I'm not sure how the commenting would work though.

Steem Monsters is just going the way of all things (it seems) the people at the top are getting more and more relative to the people at the bottom and there is no longer a way to close the gap except by spending a LOT of money.

What do you mean "once they have their voting power back"? Are they not currently upvoting your posts?

I'm not convinced it will make her happy.

Me neither! 😂

Sometime Saturday musing, dsound and sndbox lost their delegations from Steemit's misterdelegation account. When that happened, it caused at least musing's (and I assume the others' too) voting power to drop to around 6%. They actually started upvoting after that, but must have realized their votes were less than $0.01 because they stopped. An announcement on their discord channel happened a short while after that.

Now people are speculating that musing is done for, either because they're going elsewhere, like dlive, or they're reading the proverbial writing on the wall. I haven't seen any official word, nor have I seen anything that would prevent them from going on. They're essentially back where they started, with a sizable delegation from roadscape still in place.

They've been slow to upvote since the holidays. They were upvoting within a 24 hour period. Since New Year's, they've been two to three days behind. Now, I'm sure they're more behind than that. Their VP is back up to 37%, so they probably won't be voting for another couple days.

re: steempress

Okay. I wondered about that. I think they've worked on or are working on having comments appear on your website/STEEM front end, as well as being able to upvote comments. I haven't used steempress in a while, though. I was turned off by the beneficiary amounts, which I think have since gone down. Might have to revisit it myself, though I never really built up the site audience anyway.

I didn't realise Steem Press had beneficiary payments. I hadn't considered that. Ah well. Might have to knock that one on the head then. 😂

Interesting regarding musing and sndbox. I read that delegations had been cut but not whose. Looks like I might have missed that particular ship too then.

Maybe I'm wrong and the sky IS actually falling. 😂

That's just it. It could be. Or this might be just more of the drama. It's hard to know who to believe. Ned did surface on a post by aggroed in a live radio show of some kind aggroed does. That might be worth a listen. I managed the first 15 minutes or so and gave up, but you might get more out of it. I could have skipped ahead, too, tried to see if there was any actual progress with the discussion. Maybe I will do that tomorrow or something when I'm fresh again.

I did listen to that recording. I was trying to play steem Monsters but kept getting matched against the higher level bots so listened to that instead.

The main thing that struck me was that Ned just seems incapable of hearing that he needs to improve communication and he can't see any value in sharing the load with the community.

He seems determined to hold his cards tightly to his chest.

By the end he was saying he might do more on Discord and he would do some research on using it. 😂

Again he seemed deaf to aggroed's offers of help.

Another great shot such a beautiful area.
Yes I see lots of people talking about it, but meanwhile I am just carrying on as normal on here and going with the flow

Thanks @tattoodjay.

At least ned seems to be getting out in the public eye and bit more and answering questions. I hope that continues at least. 😁

we can but hope ;)

Have a great weekend

That's one awesome picture.

I had no clue of the powerdown.

I wish I was still there @rentmoney. It's cold, wet and windy here. 😊

Oh!! You shots are divine! I need some of that! I'm with you... I'll sit and wait... and see where it brings us.

Hopefully, it will surprise some. Gorgeous shots!!

!tip

It all seems to have quietened down again today @dswigle.

Thanks for the tip. Hope all is good with you. 💙

It is! A little bit of snow and a lot of sun makes for a beautiful outside day! We almost never get snow and I heard that we may get some on Thursday again! How lucky are we?

Lucky indeed @dswigle. We don't get much snow here either. I loved that little bit we had last year.

Fingers crossed for snow and sun on Thursday. 😍

Yes! Thank you so much! ❤️

Rather watch the waves pounding the rocks than anything else in the world, agree @gillianpearce have a wonderful new week.

Hope you have a wonderful week too @joanstewart. 😁

That photo is amazing!! Way nicer to look at then speculating about the sky falling😂

Glad you liked it @lynncoyle1. 💙 😁

I'm calm, because I believe in the future of blockchain. Wow ! the photo really did look wonderful!

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

It's a very beautiful place @pedrocanella. Thanks for stopping by. 😊

Great Picture @gillianpearce !! We do live in an ocean just gotta go with the flow.

Yep. Nothing for it @tryskele but to take it one day at a time. 😁

Hm, something went wrong with the comment, but I think I`ve managed to send the tip ;)

Hi @gillianpearce!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.238 which ranks you at #2782 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 6 places in the last three days (old rank 2788).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 274 contributions, your post is ranked at #134.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99