You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fully Charged and Upvoting Resumed

in #steem6 years ago

Hey! We've all got to do what we've got to do, so no need to apologize for taking time to recharge and reassess. We've all got our own personal situations that need to be cared for.

And I wouldn't call letting people know what you're trying to do a bad post. I think it's good to let those who have been engaging with you know what you're up to and what you're thinking, especially if it ends up requiring a curtailing of Steemit because it's just not happening to the degree you need it to.

I for one appreciate the heads up. Onward and upward. :)

Sort:  

Thanks @glenalbrethsen you are too kind :)

I guess I am my own harshest critic when it comes to pushing something out that maybe isn't adding value. There are so many shit-posters on here I don't want to become one of them, but I'm struggling to justify the time I spend on here these days :)

I've decided that for the time being, while I'm in the process of audience building, that what I produce needs to have a two hour maximum to write, edit and format, or less. Any more than that, and I'm probably spending too much time on it and should think about waiting until there's enough SP voting on my things.

In my mind, that doesn't equate to low quality, though. The content still needs to be good, and it needs to be about things people want to see. That in itself is probably more of the key. It has to have value, it has to be well put together, and so forth. It just can't take several hours or more to put together, because it won't be consistently worth it.

In your case, though, I think you have a lot of options, which may include spending less time here and then coming in with something larger now and then. I really hope things turn out the way they ultimately should for you, and while you're here and posting, I'll still keep perusing your stuff. :)

Thanks, I kind of started out that way. Less frequent posting but with more emphasis on quality, but that didn't really work either. I could go full-circle...but at the end of the day it's still a circle :)

In the beginning I read one of the FAQs or etiquette pages suggesting I should comment a lot, vote some, post a little, but be consistent. I started to do that and got impatient after a few weeks and started to beef up the posting. I also started reading posts about what Steemit was meant to be, and what happened to it according to some, and so none of that helped.

Then, @themanwithnoname suggested I join @abh12345's Curation and Engagement leagues and after about two weeks I did. Found out that the advice I'd been given at the beginning was pretty sound, I just needed to do a lot more and keep at it. So, I've kicked up the commenting into high gear and sense I can spread my vote out more, I do that, and I try to post at least 10 times a week—sometimes a little more.

So, I don't know if that's a recipe for everyone, but I'm enjoying it for now. I'm afraid though that things come in phases here, and so I could be exactly where you're at when I hit 11 months. I've already wondered what am I doing here a couple of times. I can see it happening a few more times. I think it's just the nature of the place.

I'm still enjoying it for the most part. Maybe I am enjoying it too much :)

I'm glad you joined the Engagement League. I've seen it make a difference in your interactions here and I know that people have appreciated the insightful comments that you leave on their posts.

Make sure that what you're doing is sustainable as well. :)

Well, I already know from past experience that working 12-14 hours a day six days a week can't last forever. Either it works or it doesn't. However, the time it actually worked, I went from over 80 hours a week down to 12 with the occasional run for supplies or deal with upset reader or subject of a story. All the upfront work was well worth it by that point, and if I could have found someone who could do the layout for two newspapers as fast I could, then I would have hired them. Or maybe not, because I actually really enjoyed that part. :)

I did the math for the amount of time that I've spent on Steemit and I've been earning less than $1/hr. I could have gotten a part time job making $10/hr and had enough money to buy a lot of silver. That's just the way it goes though, and maybe one day this all will be worth more. I'm not holding my breath, but I'm still hoping.

Sorry you couldn't keep the newspapers going. I know from having talked to you about it before that you really enjoyed it. Hopefully either Steemit takes off for you or you find something where you can productively and make use of your talents and make some money!

There were some aspects of the newspaper business I liked. I liked layout. I liked the people that worked with me. I liked giving people information I thought was important for them to know. I liked writing the very occasional article or editorial. I liked the income.

I didn't like the smalltown politics, the people who were in trouble who would complain about it showing up in the paper, having to make corrections or the rare retraction, some of the people that worked for me didn't work out, worrying about whether or not someone would finally figure out how to take our main source of revenue away, and the fact that even though I didn't work that many hours once things were lean and mean, I was always tethered to it.

Couldn't really go on vacation for longer than four days without taking work with me. I put newspapers to bed from Puerto Vallarta one year and Mexico City another time. I did it from the hotel room in Idaho and a friend's house in Utah. That was kind of cool to do, but still, I would have just liked to leave it for someone else, but I never got to that point after the partnership dissolved and I ended up firing the managing editor. It was easier to do it myself. Didn't have to wonder why we kept missing deadlines.

Other than the income, which is a big one, and the camaraderie with the two women who were with me until the end, I don't really miss it that much.

I'd still rather be doing it, though. :)

So, if you're making less than a $1 an hour now, when Steemit makes it to $10, your work will be worth about five times that, and when it hits $20, it will be worth $10 times that. That's one thing that keeps me going. Realizing that there's at least a potential, and hey, it's as good as anything out there, that STEEM finally takes off. I say finally when it's barely two years old and Bitcoin took a few years to find some footing and didn't go insane until the last year or so.

So, when Jerry Banfield is proven right and STEEM is sitting at $21,000 USD, we'll all be laughing with him. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63423.66
ETH 3077.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87