You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem 24 hour volume is 3.4 million. EOS 24 hour volume is 1.4 billion. What does this mean to you?

in #steem6 years ago

I feel the anxiety. I have enough invested in STEEM that prices falling too much more than what they've done is a concern. Anything new that launches can look formidable on paper, though, and then comes the reality.

I know a lot of people are keen on ONO. And maybe they're right to be. Maybe I shouldn't be so down on it because it's coming out of China. The Chinese government has been smart enough to allow enough capitalism to take place in their country to try to keep things afloat while they're polluting major parts of it and building vast ghost cities to try to keep up.

We shall see. I agree, though, the competitor probably comes from Larimer himself. He's got the experience from the first one. I suppose it depends on just who he has around him that actually knows social media, and whether or not all of his quirks, rather than just the productive ones, make it through. While Ned is still here and at times can be the convenient whipping boy, Dan has had his moments, too.

Then, of course, it will be up to the EOS community that builds up around the social media and the rest of the blockchain to decide what they're going to do. Are they going to go the way of all history, or will they finally create something that changes the world, and endures? History isn't on their side, but neither was it on the side of the founding fathers, either. Too bad that's all been sorely corrupted over time. Or maybe not. We wouldn't find ourselves on the cusp of another giant leap forward, if it weren't for more than a century of mucking things up. :)

Sort:  

@dan's quirks are a good point. @ned has recently spoken about how stake-weighting has been a negative impact on growth of Steemit, and he's right. @dan is probably not in agreement, and this will affect any social media he creates, probably to the point that it won't be social media at all, but merely some kind of marketing or currency mule.

Thanks!

And from a bootstrapping a cryptocurrency economy point of view like Dan has, marketing a currency mule makes perfect sense. Trying to do that from a social media platform that generally acts, as constituted, to not incentivize engagement and curation, thus turning people off from it, maybe not-so-much.

So, somewhere in all of this that goes on here, and whatever else is about to hit, STEEM needs to find its identity so it can be marketed and become the worldwide decentralized cryptocurrency it was supposedly created to be. I only say supposedly, not because I don't believe it can be, but because there always seems to be someone somewhere doing either something to go against it, or nothing to go with it, outside of all the community members here just trying to hang on to each other and the dream. :)

Having been here for both I am not 100% where I stand. I only know for certain both Ned and Dan regret the initial distribution of Steem. It has made it an unfair game from the start. I defend most aspects of Steem, the first few months are not something I am able to though.

I also think a big enough, good enough community could overcome that initial unfair distribution though. I still have hope for this place. I will have to wait for Ned to get done talking about it and taking pictures of himself flying around though to see.. once some actual work gets done. Like the EOS blockchain is theoretical. So is SMT, smarthive/communities, and many other things that are in the pipeline for Steem. What we have is a working blockchain. When the busy website is better to use than the Steemit website. That kind of sucks. Because Steemit holds so much power, yet they allow a third party website to show up and exceed them. It all run on Steem and benefits the blockchain though, so that is good at least.

Regarding busy.org, I reckon both @ned and I consider that a strength of Steemit. When I was a market research manager in Austin (yeah, a whole 'nuther me) I was desperate to promote talent from the pool that worked for me, because nothing could improve the prospects of the whole organization more than hot talent on the way up, and even if it cast shade on me, it would be shade I deserved and would benefit me by showing me ways I could improve my personal performance, as well as my interests in the company, AND by inspiring folks that worked for me to strive to their utmost, knowing I not only had their back, but wanted them to eclipse me if they could.

Humility is strength, not a weakness. When our children become greater than us, are we not proved great by their achievements? I sure hope so, 'cuz my sons are all better men than I am =)

Edit: I should probably mention that no one I managed to promote ever cast shade on me, and none ever broke the records I set within three months of taking the position. I claim only that by not seeking to keep anyone below me, but doing all I could to promote them, everyone below me was inspired and felt empowered to do their very best.

It was also a lot of fun, working with happy people. Culture matters.

I consider it a strength of Steem. I consider it a weakness of Steemit though. Steemit is a social media website, the first on the Steem blockchain. Busy is a late coming, quickly surpassing competitor that uses the same blockchain. Steem benefits from both. Steemit, not so much. I havent logged into Steemit on my PC in 4 months now probably. The site sucks.

I do completely agree with most everything you say. I always appreciate seeing you and Glen in my comments.

I would just like to note the irony of "When our children become greater than us, are we not proved great by their achievements." .. Steem was birthed from Bitshares, it proved greater. EOS is now birthed from Steem. Is your quote an indication of what is to come lol?! I know what you meant but i had to say it haha

Like I said I will hold my coins and go down with the ship if I must because I really love this place. It would be stupid not to point out the iceberg before we hit it in the hopes that someone turn the ship clear.

It also would be very beneficial if people could sign up directly through Busy, as it is they have to go to Steemit. Which means it is the landing page and should look and feel good to use.

I don't think anyone would desire you to fail to take advantage of a better platform, such as busy. I did try to use Busy a few months ago, and didn't 'get' it, so I came back to Steemit which is simple enough for me to functionally use.

I avoid unnecessary learning curves so that the time I spend isn't spent learning every new shiny UI, but can be spent using them.

That idea about signing up from more interfaces with Steem is great! Have you considered making a pull request on Github so devs can consider it?

Going down with the ship, if EOS or something derived from EOS is so much better isn't what I would expect you to do. I expect you'll see how much better it is, and start using it, and be there on the improved platform so deeply entrenched that you'll barely notice Steemit going down.

If it's really that much better, you'll profit from the improvement more than you'll lose in mere money in that case. Money is merely a veil behind which true wealth is concealed.

This is why so many people spend so much money on hookers and blow. What investment could be better than the glorious memories of an old man?

You are right of course. Though this community holds a place in my heart so I would most definitely feel it!

What could be better than the glorious memories? Why, more hookers and blow of course!

LEL

I too am quite fond of Steemit--but that's mostly the people I've been privileged to engage with here. They'll be wherever we're going, too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64117.78
ETH 3112.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23