You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Entitlement and blind brains.

in #steem6 years ago

Hey, @tarazkp.

I guess I've always thought of entitlement as something you don't have, but that you want, but don't have the resources to get it with. But you get it, because someone else gets it for you.

But in this case, you're using the definition that means you have the right to do what you want with your own property, mind, life, etc., or in this case, your own stake in STEEM.

Which I wholeheartedly agree with, even if it includes self-upvoting, buying bid bot votes, delegating SP for a fee, etc. Those are all things you have a right to do.

But just as you said when the post turned to a discussion on rights vs. responsibilities, just because we have the right to do things, doesn't mean we should.

It took a while for me to change how I look at STEEM, since I came into it under the belief that it was strictly a social media site where I got paid by other users who liked my posts. Well, it's much more than that, even though that's what is happening.

What I've decided defines it better is a global digital economy in waiting, that currently serves mainly as an investment platform, but that has a working social media platform and some side businesses, too. Platforms and businesses that at once work together and against each other depending on the natural needs of the parties involved.

That, too me, makes it dynamic, ever evolving, and somewhat of a herky jerky mess in the process.

Hope you're feeling better from your medical treatment and got some rest in the process.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63955.40
ETH 3139.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87