Steem is - my Passive Income

in #steem5 years ago

I've been thinking a lot recently about what is Steem. Calling it a platform for sharing your thoughts seems like a part of what Steem is, but recently it has become so much more. If I was going to explain what Steem is to a friend where would I begin and if I tried to explain it in 30 words or less would I be able to do that?

Passive Income

@exyle made a pretty good post about how his dad invested 5000 Euro and how much passive Steem he was able to make in the past 78 days for not doing a single thing. I'm not going to ruin the article so if you want to see how much he's made and if he's ahead from a Euro standpoint go check the post.

@cardboard shared another interesting tid bit in that post about a site/tool that I had never heard of before, https://www.steemprofit.info/. I wanted to go check out how my delegation to @ocdb was coming along and kept loading more until it loaded all the information through the start of my delegation.

After going through my APR a few times I noticed a significant jump from 20% - 30% and thought this was curious. Come to find out after reading the Info at the bottom of the website:

Please note that the website does now know which transfer is a payout and which is, for example, a refunded upvote request. Please use users @wefund and @lavater to compare the APR as they should be receiving only payouts from the listed services.

I did have a few votes that were refunded after trying to get a vote too early. I'm assuming that's why the APR jumped from 20% - 30%. It's also worthy of note that @ocdb still owes curation payouts. The APR only seems like it's 20% for OCDB, but it will be a little bit more once those rewards are paid out. Can't wait to see what the APR is once curation rewards are paid out on a regular frequency.

The site uses the account @wefund to track the APR for different projects. It's interesting to see that @tipu is at the top with almost 20% APR followed by @jerrybanfield, @therising, and @steemfunding all around 15%. This was the first time I've heard of Steemfunding and was interested to see that they pay out solely in SBD. Might want to start saving up some SP for a delegation if Steem Dollars ever hits $10 again.

I've always been interested in ways to earn more passive income. I hope to one day make enough passive income on Steem to live off of. At that point I could essentially "retire", but why would I ever stop Steeming? I may just change the location in which I write from my house in NW Indiana to some place that has a low cost of living where I can type up posts from a beach.

If you have a few seconds I think it would be fun to see a screenshot of the projects you delegate to down below and the APR you've passively earned from them. I'm interested to see the project with the top APR currently as I may have to delegate some Steem Power to them!

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

So you mean to say...delegating to @ocdb is profitable? ..how about Minnowbooster.?

Posted using Partiko Android

You can move to South of Texas rather than colder north. In Southern Texas (e.g. El Paso), you can go outdoor 365 days a year. It has no state tax and one of cheapest living cost in the US with decent facilities.

Other passive income source would be delegation to DApp for TOKEN. Though they are risky in a sense you will loose your ROI in bot delegation if they go bust, however, you can earn 5-100X in ROI if one of the tokens get successful. Potentials are: HUNT, ACTIFIT, APPICS, DICE, SMTT (Steem Monster) etc.

However, I have tested both delegation to bots and delegating to an individuals through @minnowbooster and @delegation. It is 2-3% higher API than all the bots. 20% ROI is misleading, you should recalculate your ROI taking sum of profits from 30 days. It is around 13-15%.

Only issue is that you have to delegate and undelegate manually in case of @minnowbooster and @delegationhub. And, also missed profit during the 5 days cooling period.

https://steemit.com/steem/@riseofth/database-for-dapps-looking-for-delegation-for-token-smts-or-airdrop

Try delegating to OCDB as it's a non profit bot, 100% of the profits from the bot go back to those that delegate.

I'm from the Houston area so I'm very familiar with the weather in South Texas it's just a matter of convincing the wifey to move back down there away from here family.

Thanks for stopping by. I need to keep checking minnow booster again, but the fact that your SP is tied up for 7 days has to kill some of your APR, so it would be interesting to see how much you loose when that is accounted for.

Thanks for stopping by and keep on resteeming all the amazing content. I've definitely found some great new authors to follow thanks to your resteems.

Interesting, I didn't know about the steemprofit website although I wanted to correct you that the curation rewards do get paid out daily as well, since it enters @ocdb as SP, @anomadsoul has been feeding it liquid Steem to pay them out constantly. I do however have to note that the best ROI from @ocdb is if you're both an author and delegator and I'm guessing that will be difficult to calculate.

Having said that I realize we may not be the best ROI out there since many bid bots cost to use thus return a higher profit but considering @ocdb still tops most shows how big of a cut the owners are getting. At the same time @ocdb is distributing stake to deserving authors strengthening the distribution which is important in a DPOS currency.

I don't mind if people delegate to other projects, my goal is not to centralize most of the stake into one bot, I just wish people thought it through where their funds and profits are going.

This post has been included in the latest edition of SoS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 23 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 128 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Goodmorning besides the passieve income, did you habe fun Being here on the platform ?
Gr.
Britt

Of course, otherwise I wouldn't be here. I believe in the future of crypto, but if I was doing it for the money I would have left a long time ago.

Hahaha so true, wel i think we all hope that it Will a greener Bear-less year

You got a 7.96% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @gniksivart! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 16 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95