Now Seems Like a Great Time to Be Earning Steem… It Will Probably Get Harder Soon

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

With the recent downturn in prices, my steem feed seems a lot cleaner.

There isn’t that frantic energy of people grabbing at the steems with tons of posts. Instead it’s the steem lifers, those users who I always see posting a few times a day, who are dominating the feed.

I’m reading a lot of blockchain technology posts from @dragosroua,
a bunch of philosophical ideas from @rok-sivante,
cryptocurrency news from @jrcornel,

and a lot of other content from long-time steem users. Visiting steemit right now feels like opening the newspaper, I end up seeing a bunch of longform content from reputable writers.

It makes me think that now is a great time to earn and save steem. It’ll never be this easy again, I think.

Steem’s Working Class of Authors Are Set

There is a “working class” now on steem! Many authors post 1-4 times per day and earn between 10 and 100 steem each day in the process. These users are used to the ups and downs of the token and don’t get fazed.


This is what it feels like to be in the steem working class. source: pixabay.com

They know that today’s $0.80 steem is tomorrow’s $2 steem and beyond. They know that this is one of the most active blockchains in the world.

The price can’t dip too low anymore, because too many investors and authors are just waiting for the chance to buy it up. Even if it went down to $0.60, I would not be worried. The reduced hype would just be another chance for true believers to get in at a good price.

The truth is, we gain new true believers every day. There’s always somebody discovering steem and falling in love.

A Year From Now Steems Will Be Harder to Come By

For one thing, the interest rate is steadily dropping. This is a slow process but eventually it goes down to around 1% per year, a lot less than today. The gradual reduction of the interest rate will make it a lot harder to earn steem by posting content.

For another, more great content creators are joining the platform. As the population of hungry steemians grows larger, there is more competition for steem.


the crowd is growing larger. and they all want steem. source: pixabay

Add SMTs on top of that and it gets really crazy. There will be entire digital ecosystems joining steem and fighting for a piece of the rewards pool. At this point I think steem’s value could really hit the moon.

Get Your Steems While You Can

I am trying to stock up on steem now. Having more SP is the simplest way to become a more influential member of the network.

As a true believer, it’s a no brainer for me. SP now is good money in the future. All I have to do is keep posting good content and HODL HODL HODL.

Question: Are you taking advantage of the good steem-earning environment? How’s the posting going?

Sort:  

It’s a good time to stock up if you think the price will rise. When the other Alts have experienced a bump, Steem seems to have continued its decline. Not sure if it’s due to posters powering down and cashing out etc. Steem is complicated as people who generate content are likely to power down and sell out, producing downward pressure.

I just bought 240 steem when it hit 91 cents. I couldn't pass it up. I wouldn't mind if it went back down to 25 cents for a while so I could get some more at that price too.

I've seen some people mentioning that Eos could eliminate steem in the future, though. This might not happen for another while but it's something to keep in mind for the long term.

I think steem will run on top of EOS the idea is to be able to run all the resources needed to run the Blockchain with EOS as the computer operating system. EOS is more something that will add more stabilization to STEEM

I hope it works out that way.

I too share the long term vision. The low price on steem right not could be a attributed to many things, the borkyness of Steemit.com for what it seemed to be almost a month, the upcoming fork of Bitcoin. But as you have said the users who treat Steemit as a job, as a sustainable investment are doing just fine, focusing on what they need to focus... creating good content.

I'm with you on this philosophy every step of the way.

Having steemit.com be so broken for so long must not have helped. I'm thankful that the site is working better now.

This is great content.

Personally I think if not for smt, it would have taken steem a long time to become in high demand because just few people on Steemit reachout to bring people in

reasons

  1. No referral
  2. Some would say "I'd rather invest the time of talking to someone about steemit into making post.

I believe in the future of steem and I can't wait for that future

I was looking up @rov-sivante and I get (Sorry! This page doesn't exist.) I think is @rok-sivate

Yeah, I actually recently moved some BTC into steem since I am quite excited about it. Posting is okay, I'm saving those steem pennies.

I do wish to find more active users to engage with similar interests though. That will come with time I think. And slowly exposing more and more of my friends to my blog and steem.

Also I didn't think I would enjoy sharing things on my blog as much as I am, as before I'm not big on social media, just on crypto. So that was a nice surprise to me.

Anyway, see you around!

You and I both are waiting for the day when steem has more active users... that is going to really help. I would love to see more content here that I want to read.

Very true; those people who bought when it dropped to $0.20 were laughing when it went up to $1.50, that's 7.5 x return.

By the way It's @rok-sivante, ;-)

Cg

Ah thanks for catching that typo, I fixed it

I'm with you, I think that this is just the beginning for STEEM - it's one of the most active in practical transactions and the whole smart token thing I truly believe will catch up in the mainstream in the next 5-10 years (hopefully sooner!)

We shall see!

Bitcoin feels like is going mainstream now. It won't be in retail shops anytime soon due to the transaction issues, but at this point everybody is talking about it. Approaching $10k!

People like you are the real Steemit motivators. You put the facts on the table so hard that we follow your foot steps. Keep up the good work.

Agree, now is a good time to stock up. I was messing around on bitshares yesterday definitely buying more STEEM and SP.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02