You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A case for autovoters

in #steem6 years ago

Honestly, I don't believe in autovoting. I don't use any programs to autovote others, although I have noticed I am on some people's autovotes (I must be, since their votes pop in quite soon after I publish, regardless of hour, type of post etc). And while I'm grateful to them, of course, it does kinda make me sad that people don't really read what you write. I mean, it's awesome to know someone thought you were good enough to say yeah, they' probably put out good stuff in the future too and I'll automatically vote them, but still.
When you put 3 hours into a post, you kinda want someone to read it.

And I don't think it even matters, in regard to what you said about high earners dropping their quality when prices drop. I guess that's true for some, but there are a lot of others on here who don't really add to the value of the community, who post random stuff, knowing they'll get big votes anyway.
And then there are the people for whom the price drop actually makes a difference. I mean sure, if you earn a lot or at least a decent amount on each post, then a slight drop in Bitcoin won't affect you as much. Besides, you have more to lose if you stop posting when times get rough.
But if you're earning meagerly anyway, if Bitcoin drops, turning your payouts to peanuts, why bother?
There's a lot of very understandable frustration on this platform - a lot of people write quality content, yet they get 30 cents. And then they look over at some whale who gets 30 dollars for a pretty picture. How are these people supposed to stay motivated?

I think I've gone a bit off track here, sorry, but it just flowed. Sorry for making you read this huge comment, sir.

Sort:  

And while I'm grateful to them, of course, it does kinda make me sad that people don't really read what you write.

See it as them supporting you to continue writing so that those that do read and enjoy you can continue to.

but there are a lot of others on here who don't really add to the value of the community, who post random stuff, knowing they'll get big votes anyway.

This is the unhealthy side of autovoting most focus on. There is other ways to run an autovote.

But if you're earning meagerly anyway, if Bitcoin drops, turning your payouts to peanuts, why bother?

This is the difference between an entrepreneur and a worker perhaps. Entrepreneurs will bother.

I think I've gone a bit off track here, sorry, but it just flowed. Sorry for making you read this huge comment, sir.

Look at the list, this is a short one :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64254.80
ETH 3145.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88