How To Avoid Getting Your DTube Videos Deleted - Free Dedicated DTube Video Hosting

in #steem5 years ago

Hello, I come today to announce my next step, as a witness, to improve the Steem platform, and this time I am focusing on DTube

I want first to invite you to do a small experiment.

  • Find a DTuber of your choice
  • Open his DTube channel
  • Scroll all the way to the very first videos he posted
  • Watch his very first video

What happened?
If the video is a few months old, nothing happened. Literally....
DTube deletes old videos to save space for the new. And that is totally understandable, they are an advertisement-free platform and have limited resources. But still, I had the idea for this project after becoming frustrated by finding old videos that seemed interesting but were already deleted and LOST FOREVER.

This is why I am announcing a new free service I am offering.

If you have great videos and you believe they are atemporal (meaning they should still hold informative value for the long run), contact me and I will, for free, download and seed the video.

If you are interested in not having your videos lost, or improve the speed at what they load, I imagine you understand a little bit about how DTube and IPFS work, it is "like torrent", the more people seeding your content the faster it is and the harder it is to be lost forever. While I am still hosting, DTube can delete it from their servers and the video will still be up.

As I have mentioned, this is a free service, but I would like to request visibility for my witness campaign in exchange. It is not mandatory for now to promote my witness campaign in exchange for having the videos seeded by my dedicated server I set up exactly for that, but I appreciate, and if the demand for this service grows too much, I will have to start requiring some kind of adverstisement exchange for the hosting service, but for now it is totally free of duties, and will be free of charge forever! Just request and I will host you! (unless your video break some good behavior, for example, if it is a very controversial topic, has some kind of racism or sexism or some bad things that are against Steem and DTube good usage policies)

How to request your video to be hosted.

You just need to contact me. You can either

  • Post a comment here with the DTube video links you want to be hosted. I will seed them.
  • Message me using the @partiko app if you want to chat further about it
  • Send a transaction to @igormuba with the DTube video link on the memo if you want to give a small tip back for the service!

How to give back

The service is free and you don't need to do anything for me in return. But, if you want to give back, I appreciate, the costs or running the witness server are high and this new service are too, so you can

  • Make a post pledging support for my witness campaign
  • Vote for my witness (instructions on the end of the post)
  • Resteem a few of my posts
  • Send some SBD or Steem to @igormuba
  • Upvote my posts, if they interest you in some way

For now, it is very informal, I plan, in the future, to create a web page to compile all of my projects, including this one, make discord and telegram groups, but for now, I am worried more about building the infra-structure for the services I am giving, I will take care of the presentation later

Reviewing

So, TL;DR:

  • Contact me or comment here the link of the video you want to be saved and seeded
  • If you want to help, vote for me for witness, make a post pledging support for my witness campaign, or donate some Steem/SBD to @igormuba

Weekly report

Every weekend I will post a report with the videos I have started seeding, the videos I might have deleted, informations, alerts (if I have to delete something I will warn here at least 1 week before) and every important announcement.
Check this weekly report to keep track if I have already seeded or video or if it is on the delisting queue

Also, if I happen to need to close the server or delete some older files, I compromisse myself on contacting you however I can at least 1 week (seven days) so you have time to save the file so it does not get lost forever (DTube should really have some policy like that)

VOTE FOR ME!

To vote for me, simply use the SteemConnect link below
https://steemconnect.com/sign/account-witness-vote?witness=igormuba&approve=1

or go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses

(note, it is /~witnesses, not /witness)
Scroll all the way down to "If you would like to vote for a witness outside of the top 100, enter the account name below to cast a vote."

type igormuba and click vote

Sort:  

nice. there is only a few worthy videos to keep, inspiration, historical events... what else... high value vids.... i dont think i have them.

hopefully people will use your wonderful and kind gesture.

You should make a Dtube video to explain this because this article is more relevant to Dtube community.

Looking forward to watching your Dtube Vlog :)

That is actually a nice idea, thank you. I will figure out how to record and post tomorrow. Thank you

Posted using Partiko Android

Wonderful :)

Let me know if you need any help

Hi, @igormuba!

You just got a 0.33% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Would be better to have a DTube Publisher Software for Desktop with IPFS integrated.

When you publish a video, the software takes the IPFS hashes of video, sprints, quality, etc and download all data to keep a local seed for the files.

That way each person would be responsible for keeping just their own videos after DTube deletes them from their IPFS.

Yes, that too! DTube and IPFS are not focusing enough on the good will of people... Everyone assumes people are greedy and want to take and not give back. For instance, on an utopian-io community once when they were talking about the fees on the new platform I have asked "but wait, what if I want to give higher fees from my earnings to utopian to support you, how can I do it?" they have said "wait, we have never thought about that"
They all assume no one wants to help them, DTube could have some software for people that want to help to easily host videos, being their own of others videos.... IPFS also could have an easier system for people that want to volunteer as seeds, but they all assume no one cares about helping...
Meanwhile, I am here with my dedicated server ready to help, though it is not as simple as it should be

I once tried to make an IPFS local server to be controlled by a Windows desktop. It kind of worked but I gave up later.

It wouldn't need to be logged in to backup IPFS videos. Just put the username and the system would backup every IPFS published by that user on Steem Blockchain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99